Hosting novice needs advice

Hi I am based in the UK and just about to have my first website hosted. I am a complete novice and do not have much technical knowledge so will need a host that can give good support. My site which is AJAX based in PHP with a Mysql data base is a directory of entertainers.

It will eventually include about 2 thousand photographs and 1000 short video/audio clips (these clips will be limited to 30 seconds each because of performing rights issues) When the site is launched it will have only a few images/clips and will gradually build up to the figures above over a period of about 12 months.

Can anyone advise me on how much disk space/bandwidth I may need and recommend a reliable hosting company with good support.

Regards Rob

To start off with I would get a small shared hosting account with say 1Gb disk space + 10Gb transfer and see how it goes. Once the site gets bigger it will need to move from the shared hosting to a dedicated server (maybe via a VPS) however I would suggest at that point looking for a fully managed dedicated server provider.

For the support etc I would say have a look at clook.net as they are a premium UK brand and they should be able to grow with you as the site gets popuiar

Rus
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

Yes, I agree, it's best to start off reasonably small since you are only just starting with this, something in the line of what above posted suggested would be fine.

Whenever necessary you can always upgrade or even move to a VPS or dedicated server.

You can take a look at the offers section to find a suitable host, or try the host quote feature. It's also a good idea to do some research on them and contact them personally, so you can get an idea of their support.
    IceBlueHost | Premium Quality Hosting Solutions
    Shared | Reseller | Xen VPS | Dedicated | cPanel | Softaculous | CLoudLinux | Game Servers
    True 24x7 Support | No Overselling | Servers in France and Canada