hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : Deamhost used to be a dream...now it is a nightmare.....
Reply

Forum Jump

Deamhost used to be a dream...now it is a nightmare.....

View Poll Results: What's your experience with DH
I love DH, it have everything I need, and it's stable 11 28.95%
It's the same as other hosting company. 5 13.16%
I don't like DH. very unstable,and many other issues. 22 57.89%
Voters: 38. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2006, 05:10 PM
lorin lorin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Thumbs down

Deamhost used to be a dream...now it is a nightmare.....


I like to share my DH experience with your guys ......

DH used to be a dream.....
unbelievable low price with all the cool stuff I want .....although it is not stable at all...I still love it...

DH became a nightmare....
First, I have to tell you I'm an IT technician.I know what I'm doing. ...

DH offer 1T/month traffic, I'm fully aware of that. I've setup the throttling and also WebDev password and link protection on my forums. so nomally daily download 20-30G/day, very stable.

On Nov6, the traffice suddenly jump to 10T/day.. look closely, it is 10T a day !!!!I was shocked, the req was even lower than the day before... I did some test, even with the native tranfer between DH servers can only get 1-3M/S. There is no such way a server can handle 10T a day. I was laugh and mad.. because after I send DH support team a email regarding this, no one can answer me... They all told me to check the stats...which has no proof where that traffic came from....Anyway, I stopped the forums, changed the propertities on the folder, to prevent anyone to download....but guess what??

on Nov7..ha...20T/day.... hahaha.....still no one can answer me.. on the panel, It shows I own $21,000 USD.....for 2days traffic..

I'm glad I'm not host my domain at DH. I have to close it before the billing cicle and tranfer over all my stuff.....

So guys, if you like DH, good luck, I wish you don't have such bad experience... if you don't know too much about hosting, don't use DH.... if you know what you are doing and with good luck, use DH.

bye..DH, what a great dream, it will never become true....



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-09-2006, 05:45 PM
MrRadic MrRadic is offline
.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: East Coast // NYC
Posts: 1,693
This is why you want to stick with a host that provides raw log files! There no better proof...

  #3  
Old 11-09-2006, 06:02 PM
extras extras is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 838
DH provides raw log, and it provides log of processes.
Also, they provides stats.

I thought bandwidth throttle would prevent any posibility of bandwidth overage, too.
If your site really served 20TB a day and DH didn't shut down the site, it's amazing.
I guess that's a bug of bandwidth monitor or something similar in nature.

I checked my usage, but it was normal 2 to 3GB /day.
Nothing special, abnormal. Everything working well, so far.
I guess I'm lucky.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 11-09-2006, 06:30 PM
random user random user is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
If there were an option between 1 and 2, I would have chosen it. DH hasn't been as stable recently as it used to be, and it's moderately annoying. On the other hand, I'm running a fairly popular site that gets a fair amount of traffic for a very cheap price.

You get what you pay for is true, but I think I'm getting a good deal, especially when you consider what they do allow (full shell access, unlimited php/perl scripting, unlimited domains/subdomains/MySQL databases, unlimited mail aliases etc).

  #5  
Old 11-09-2006, 06:31 PM
mmm mmm is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 55
10TB = 10485760MB = 83,886,080Mbit
1 day = 86400s

So, 10TB/day = 970.9Mbps (or 121.36MB/s)

Even only consider the transfer rate for your downloads, Dreamhost's server has a very fast disk array and put a server in a Gb port... I think most shared server will only use a 100Mb port..

  #6  
Old 11-10-2006, 09:16 AM
corallinkz corallinkz is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 96
I've been using DH for long time ago but only last for about 3-4 months. Guess what? I've to pay for 105+USD for a bandwith of 2-3TB that I think my site will never used like that. BTW, at that time, DH offer the old package, 1TB b/w 20Gb space. For your info, my site got around 10-30 visitors online at one time and max ever I got with DH is 50 peoples online. One day, I got an email from DH support said that they wanted to throotle my b/w for my website. They didnt tell me that by throotle the b/w make me can use more than 1 TB. I'm willing to offline my site than throotle the b/w. It just a nightmare for me coz they're not telling anything more spesific.

  #7  
Old 11-10-2006, 10:42 AM
Xandrios Xandrios is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmm
10TB = 10485760MB = 83,886,080Mbit
1 day = 86400s

So, 10TB/day = 970.9Mbps (or 121.36MB/s)

Even only consider the transfer rate for your downloads, Dreamhost's server has a very fast disk array and put a server in a Gb port... I think most shared server will only use a 100Mb port..
These servers are connected at 1Gbit actually. They use a central diskarray, which probably will also be able to achieve that speed.

However, its just too much to be actually used. There are other clients on those servers also. 970Mbit for a long period of time just isn't gonna happen.

There is one possibility though: Local loop. If there is a PHP script that somehow downloads / includes a file from its own webserver....it could use up a lot of bandwidth. Especially if that happens in a loop or something.

  #8  
Old 11-10-2006, 06:41 PM
Jake|WHM Jake|WHM is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 87
Ouch, I'm sorry to hear that

__________________
Web Host Magazine & Buyers Guide
Web Host Magazine & Buyer's Guide
Fair & Objective Reviews, Ratings & Information
since 1997

  #9  
Old 11-10-2006, 09:11 PM
lorin lorin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Now I have nothing to say........

Today when I logged in the panel to check if my bandwidth usage goes up again:

Do you know what happened??

The bandwidth dropped to my previous nomal status, it only shows 14% usage of this month. So I think they found the issue and fixed it. However, the balance still shows I owe $21000 USD..

So I was kind of happy and send them a letter to remind them regarding fixing the my account balance issue...

The following letter almost drived me crazy..... check this out....from their agent:

------------------------------------------------------------
Your domain contained wmv files which were referred from _your_ own forum and caused a huge bandwidth surge. If you put your files out there, they are going to be downloaded, as I'm sure you're aware, having all those classifications that you listed in the previous email.

You are responsible for the files, and also for the bandwidth usage they incurred. The most we can do is cut the overage charge in half. Unfortunately, unpaid accounts go into suspension after 60 days, and accounts that are refused to be paid for may get disabled and you won't be able to sign up with us again. We simply can't let you use up all that bandwidth for the lack of appropriate protection on your files.

Let us know if you have any more questions.
----------------------------------------------------------------

I don't know what he is talking about. Obviously , he does not even know other tech alreay found and fixed their system issue.

So guys, I totally lost my confidence with them..

  #10  
Old 11-10-2006, 09:45 PM
extras extras is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 838
Have you checked your raw log, and stats?
What do they say?

Have you been the bandwidth throttle feature available in control panel?

  #11  
Old 11-10-2006, 09:53 PM
lorin lorin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Yes, I did. Yes, I did.

How many times do I need to answer that... Download file is not critical for me, i don't mind the downloads have restrictions even totally shutdown.. I have put everything possible to prevent this ahead.

  #12  
Old 11-10-2006, 09:59 PM
extras extras is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 838
You are not answering my question.

Do you know how to check your raw log and stats?
If yes, have you done that?

When you go into control panel, and click "Status" and then "Bandwidth", do you see "Enabled (xxxxGB)" or "Disabled" in the colum of "BW Throttling"?

  #13  
Old 11-10-2006, 10:43 PM
lorin lorin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
I'm a MCSE, MCDBA, and CCNA

The domain/stats data and all the logs under /var/log/ which allow me to check, I've already checked.

IT DOESN"T SHOW ME ANYTHING ABOUT THAT 20T/DAY DATA CAME FROM.

if you are asking me if I enabled BW Throttling, I believe I've told you that already in the first post.

Now you are like the DH tech..

  #14  
Old 11-10-2006, 10:55 PM
extras extras is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorin
The domain/stats data and all the logs under /var/log/ which allow me to check, I've already checked.

IT DOESN"T SHOW ME ANYTHING ABOUT THAT 20T/DAY DATA CAME FROM.
Thank you.
What is the actual amount for the day shown by the stat?

Quote:
if you are asking me if I enabled BW Throttling, I believe I've told you that already in the first post.
What is the bandwidth you set?

Quote:
Now you are like the DH tech..
Tech people (at least those who has access to your directory) doesn't have to ask these question, IMO.
They should be able to see these from their side.

Anyway, thanks to your post, I decided to put MY bandwidth throttle, just in case.
(I set it to 1 TB/month.)

Another question.
Are you really serving 20 to 30G per day of forum traffic?
Or mainly with static files?

Do you know how many users do you have in forum (average, rough figure.)?

Because it's a little, well actually way too good to be true if you are pulling that much for forum.

  #15  
Old 11-10-2006, 11:06 PM
lorin lorin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
I have 800-1000 user online sametime average

20-30G/day include my files download average for about a year now...

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Web Host Site5 Adds Second Brazilian Location Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:21:51
Excessive Employee Privileges Bring Unnecessary Risk to Organizations: Study Web Hosting News 2013-10-22 16:04:58
NSA Records Millions of Phone Calls, Texts in France Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:22:21
Brazil’s Dreams for Domestic Data Centers would be Logistical Nightmare Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:21:56
cPanel Conference 2012: Branding and How to Do it Better with Felipe Gasper Web Hosting News 2012-10-09 18:00:02


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?