Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

New Host Needed Urgently

Hi all,

Our curent host has just cancelled our subscription (as of December) as we are on a shared server and with the amount of traffic we have it's causing them huge problems.

I understand why they've had to do it but now we desperately need a new host.

We use about 4GB disk space including databases though we can probably reduce this if necessary.

Bandwidth-wise we use somewhere between 50GB and 100GB a month and we've very occassionally gone over this.

We have approximately 3 million page views a month.

Cost wise, we're pretty desperate so I can't be too picky about the price but if someone can suggest how much they think we should be paying it'd be great.

The problem is the huge database load that we're creating through MySQL which continually crashes due to too many connections on our current host.

Does anyone have any host suggestions?

I have no experience with admining servers so I assume we need a managed server with everything set up and ready to go?

Any help or advise would be superb.

Thanks.

Hi Rob,

Sorry to hear about your problems,

Looks like you need a managed dedicated server that would suit your site specifically, I think from what you were saying you would be looking at atleast $500 a month depending on a few details.

Your disk space and bandwidth is no problem, but that many visitors with large database, you want a good server to handle it.

If i can help in anyway just add me to msn or reply here.
    Last edited by DATARTIM; 11-09-2006 at 06:20 AM.
    Data Republic - UK Managed Servers - Server Management - Managed Backup/R1Soft
    Follow us on Twitter to get exclusive sales & updates.
    R1Soft Agents Monthly !

Thanks for the reply.

Could you explain where you get the $500 figure from as that'd be extremely useful.

I'm currently looking at steadfast.net and the following:

Athlon64 3500+
    2.2Ghz 512KB Cache Athlon64
    250 GB SATA II Hard Drive
    1 GB DDR2 SDRAM