Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Co Location

  1. #1

    * Co Location

    Hi, I am a financial advisor and I have my own T1 by Sprint which is 4000 feet from the Optic Fiber Backbone. I go thru no ISP, I have my own Class C and am a member of Arin.

    So I have terrific bandwidth and only two servers on the whole T1. I would like to offer server co location - but know nothing about the business at all.

    I have a commercial quality UPS which can run for hours and can provide any other hardware as needed as I have a dedicated 24/7 air conditioned computer room. I really need someone who just wants to send me a server and all my job would be is to keep the power on and the T1 up. I also have hundreds of ip's avalible.

    Any advise will be appreciated.

    PS I am in Dallas Texas http://www.quantvantage.com and will provide either tower or rack space.

    Mark
    Last edited by Chicken; 06-19-2002 at 08:26 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    409

    Re: Co Location

    Any advise will be appreciated.
    Yep, you might try mentioning where (geographically) you're located, and how much you're going to charge, and whether you have a rack or it should be a tower.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    158
    mmm
    i can only dream about having that sorta bandwidth on my PC
    http://www.boredomkillers.com - Boredom Killers: Coming Soon. Never be bored again!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    12,121

    Re: Re: Co Location

    Originally posted by petertdavis


    Yep, you might try mentioning where (geographically) you're located, and how much you're going to charge, and whether you have a rack or it should be a tower.
    If we're going to be heading into how much we charge, etc., then this has to be moved to the Related Offers and Request advertising forum as that steps into discussing your services. Let me know if this is what you'd like Mark.
    HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

    • Chicken

  5. #5
    a single T1 for co-lo is too darn slow..

    most ppl here are spoiled by the cheap rackshack deals where $99/month buys you 400gigs at speeds well over 1.54mbit/second

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Leesburg, VA
    Posts
    3,205

    Re: Co Location

    Originally posted by Mark Brown
    Hi, I am a financial advisor and I have my own T1 by Sprint which is 4000 feet from the Optic Fiber Backbone. I go thru no ISP, I have my own Class C and am a member of Arin.
    1. Sprint is an ISP
    2. What do you mean you are a member of ARIN? In order to get a netblock directly from ARIN you have to have at least a /20 -- and that doesn't make you a member of ARIN, it simply means you have a netblock from them. Ditto, if you have your own ASN, but with only a single provider, there would be no reason for an ASN.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    1,654
    You definately do not have your own block directly from ARIN:

    [email protected] [~]# host www.quantvantage.com
    www.quantvantage.com has address 204.212.33.128
    [email protected] [~]# whois [email protected]
    [whois.arin.net]
    US Sprint (NETBLK-SPRINT-BLKB2) SPRINT-BLKB2 204.212.0.0 - 204.215.255.255
    QUANT VANTAGE, LLC (NETBLK-FON-34364541445100) FON-34364541445100
    204.212.33.0 - 204.212.33.255

    To single out one record, look it up with "!xxx", where xxx is the
    handle, shown in parenthesis following the name, which comes first.

    The ARIN Registration Services Host contains ONLY Internet
    Network Information: Networks, ASN's, and related POC's.
    Please use the whois server at rs.internic.net for DOMAIN related
    Information and whois.nic.mil for NIPRNET Information.

    Being a member of ARIN and having your own block are two totally different things. You have a Class C of IP addresses from Sprint, your ISP.
    [QuickPacket™] [AS46261]
    Located in Atlanta, GA and Los Angeles, CA
    Dedicated Servers, KVM, Xen & OpenVZ VPS, Co-location, R1Soft Data Backup, Shared & Reseller Hosting

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,963
    yea besides
    t1 is too slow
    its not enough
    people want their servers to be able to push more then just 200k/sec

    like my servers push megabytes/second

    200k/sec is nothing.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    2,416
    I suspect Mr. Brown has made a simple lingo error. He's a techy but more from the desktop applications (charting, analysis) side of things, not internet plumbing. Knowledgable crowd around here Mark.

    mw - a TS user / developer
    “Even those who arrange and design shrubberies are under
    considerable economic stress at this period in history.”

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,008
    If you know nothing about the business, then I bet you won't do to well. Your customers need support, (ie: you need to know linux) What happens if you sprint pipe goes down? Do you have a backup line?

    A 1.5Mbps pipe is nothing, it is very limited, and you wouldn't be earning enough to support the bill for the line, because you can only host so many servers.

    Good Luck.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    2,416
    311 - I did not say MB wasn't bright. It would not surprise me if he has already a good familiarity with *nix. Perhaps he's trying to spread the cost of service he has already but perhaps is not fully utilizing on his own.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •