Urgent: VPS questions: Root, Fedora, etc.

I have a task that is close to impossible: I have to find and sign-up for a VPS solution that has following minimal requirements TODAY:

- Root access
    - Linux OS
    - Fedora v4
    - MySQL

Now, I am not an expert on the subject, but how normal/abnormal these specs are? I am not worried about MySQL. What I am curious is the rest: Root access, Linux OS and Fedora version 4 - how common are these requirements? Do I have to ask for them specifically? How can I understand whether a particular offer/VPS has Fedora installed? How Fedora is different from Linux? Does Root mean I can install any application on a server?

Thanks guys.

Best,
    Hosting Discussion - web hosting community.

Is your company represented?

Fedora 4 is old, use CentOS-4 or Fedora 5 as a minimum

Those are the minimal requirements in order to run the project. Am I assuming correctly that if Fedora 5 is installed on a VPS instead of Fedora 4 - whatever my team planned to work with Fedora 4 - it will work with Fedora 5 just as well?

Also, do asking for 2 OS common? Does it come by default most of the time?

Thank you.

OS = most vps providers give you a choice. Fedora, CentOS, SuSE, etc. You can only pick one. 1 os per vps. If you need Fedora and SuSE for example, you'd need 2 seperate vps.

Root = all vps come with root. You can install whatever you want.

MySQL = using rot, you can install MySQL. Whatever version you need.

//edit
    Fedora IS linux. It's a version of linux. Same as windows 2000 is a version of windows.
    Last edited by Wojtek; 11-02-2006 at 06:51 AM.

Hi,

As stated above, Fedora is a version of a Linux OS. Most VPS hosts will offer you a choice of operating systems to install upon the setup of your VPS account. The options you are required to obtain, are generally pretty standard with most VPS plans, so they should not be a problem.
    Spry Virtual Server/VPS Hosting