Best way to close out a linux box

We have a linux (Fedora) dedicated server that we are closing out.

I am wondering what would be the best to permanently erase all information on the (single) hard drive.

Unfortunately we are not happy with the provider in this case, and want to ensure that all informtation will be completely removed.

It seems to me that there are a lot of utilities out there for wiping a disk, but most assume you are in front of the machine.

Does anyone have thoughts on the best way to wipe it remotely? (It would be nice if we could wipe the free space too.)

Memphis, TN
    I prefer a method known as "SLEDGEHAMMER"

But alas, your are to far away for "SLEDGEHAMMER"

Thers some free linux ones out there if you google them...I'm not sure though how good they are, as I've never used them before.

Tipton, IN
    Here's an eazy one.. Download a self-extracting virus, and let it have at itself.

No, not really.. (maybe this might make you catch hell later, but I would say remove all data filesystems and everything.. It will make the drive fail and be useless, then the Datacenter can just format over it.)

rm -rf /

I think the poster want disk wipe utility that overwrites the files several times. Unrtionately I don't know of any for the linux platform that works remote.
    -Mr Bister

New York
    if you have one that can be used via command line, with user interaction, then set it up to launch on next reboot, and then execute shutdown -r now and hopefully it would be able to take care of things lol.
    Perigee Global Corporation
    Design, Development and Hosting Solutions
    Dedicated Servers, CDN, Hosted E-Mail, Web Hosting, VPS & Cloud Servers

cat /dev/random > /dev/hda ?

BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based VPS Servers - Chat with us
    - All popular VPN methods supported
    - Affordable offloaded MySQL & DDoS protection
    - 5GB backup space, unmetered private LAN bandwidth & native IPv6 included. All with a strong serving of pony