Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    LA, CA
    Posts
    1,059

    httpd.conf file deleted :(

    While editing my httpd.conf file, I guess I accidently selected half of it and then pressed a key, deleting a huge chunk of it. httpd won't start now....what should I do? Where can I find another one? I searched google but I didn't get any good leads.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,648
    Restore from backups?
    Eric Spaeth
    Enterprise Network Engineer :: Hosting Hobbyist :: Master of Procrastination
    "The really cool thing about facts is they remain true regardless of who states them."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    405
    If cpanel is running on your server, you might try to use this script :
    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf

    Good luck
    Marie - Co-Owner
    Need Further Assistance ? Here you go !
    English, french and spanish support

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    LA, CA
    Posts
    1,059
    I don't have a backup and the server doesn't have a control panel on it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    Is there anthing in /etc/httpd/conf that looks like a backup? If not you will have to re-write it manaully
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    2,416
    If you are on a server with "locate"

    locate httpd.conf

    You'll probably find httpd.conf-dist sitting there somewhere. Take that as a start and go from here.

    Myself, I check in all key configuration files to a version control system. My entire /usr/local/etc and certain files in /etc (esp /etc/named...), for all my machines, sits in a Mercurial repository. Just an "hg clone ..." away from recovery if need be.
    “Even those who arrange and design shrubberies are under
    considerable economic stress at this period in history.”

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    LA, CA
    Posts
    1,059
    There isn't....but I don't know what should be in it. Would using one from an earlier or later version work?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    If its from 1.3.x or 2.x then you should be able to drop it in without major issue
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    1,337
    yeah, if it copies from another server, there is a chance of syntax errors (eg: module mismatch) and it will display the exact syntax error while trying to restart the http.so, you have to edit the http.conf file for the apache server to work properly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •