Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    338

    Unhappy I'm afraid to use SEARCH here!

    Hi, sorry for the topic but please forgive me, I'm an honest WHT fan, however has been afraid to use Search in here..

    I can't remember since when, but the search here has been TOO difficult and VERY inefficient. I'm sorry about it, when you want to search for multiple words, for example to search for best free forum, the more words you input, the more inefficient it would be, you can't search like on other VB based forums to use a word "AND" or an addition mark "+" to include all the keywords you want to search, neither to match the exact phrase, but just no matter how/what you input, every time it will ONLY work as "OR", including to search with quotation marked, like "best free forum software", it will return the same result even you search with following ways:

    • best AND free AND forum AND software
    • best OR free OR forum OR software
    • best, free, forum, software
    • etc...


    Is there anywhere I've made mistake or that the administrator decides to use a such search solution? I found this difficult since about 1 month ago, and now I'm afraid to search the forum, when I want to search for how people were discussing about free forum softwares, when I input "free" and "forum" into the search box, I just found all threads which have the word "free", including most of them are are about "free hostings", but mostly none about "free forum". Sounds like to find a needle from the sea...

    Sorry for my english, and sorry for this topic.

    I wish WHT would be better and easier for us to use, and be happy to stay.

    Thanks for your time.

    TT
    Su-Jie Wang
    UI & UX Designer
    Portfolio: SUJ.CO

  2. #2
    I agree. You guys should add an option next to the search menu which allows for a user to search for any word or match all words that they type in.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    .INdiana
    Posts
    2,451
    the advanced search (search type: boolean) isn't suitable?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    3,498
    Quote Originally Posted by CD Burnt
    the advanced search (search type: boolean) isn't suitable?
    That's what I use, and it works fine.


    Alex

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by CD Burnt
    the advanced search (search type: boolean) isn't suitable?
    Hi, seems it is what I am talking about... >.<

    They really need to put some words beside it, I know it's my own problem though, that my limited knowledge... 'boolean' was just 'yes' or 'no', '1' or '0' in my brain.. lol

    I assume there might be more people having the same concept (probably no concept) regard this 'boolean' search.

    Anyway, thanks for your info! cheers!

    TT
    Su-Jie Wang
    UI & UX Designer
    Portfolio: SUJ.CO

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fleet Street
    Posts
    3,243
    I've also noticed that the search is fairly inefficient a good amount of the time - the advanced search feature usually works fine for me, but the basic search usually ends up with 50 pages related to something extremely specific.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Kalamazoo
    Posts
    33,190
    Quote Originally Posted by ttk_2k
    ... 'boolean' was just 'yes' or 'no'...
    If you use the 'Save Search Preferences' button near the bottom of the page, you won't have to remember to tick boolean.

    Maybe we can get it ticked as default for members.
    There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    5,283
    Maybe an idea for iNet (or whoever their owner is) could be:
    http://www.google.com/enterprise/mini/
    Hosting Discussion - web hosting community.

    Is your company represented?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by SoftWareRevue
    ...Maybe we can get it ticked as default for members.
    That'll be great! Do it my friend, people will love you!
    Su-Jie Wang
    UI & UX Designer
    Portfolio: SUJ.CO

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Kalamazoo
    Posts
    33,190
    Quote Originally Posted by Artashes
    Maybe an idea for iNet (or whoever their owner is) could be:
    http://www.google.com/enterprise/mini/
    That is something that iNET's looked into.
    There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by ttk_2k
    That'll be great! Do it my friend, people will love you!
    I'm also here with you, I've experienced a lot of problems with search in WHT, and the Advanced search page just frightens me

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    774
    Instead of iNET forking out loads of money on a Google Mini, you could simply use the following link:

    http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=sit...ostingtalk.com

    Then add your search terms to the end - easy I quite often use this method for searching forums, as most search features in forum software really are inadequate (including vB), although in turn that's a reflection on the speed of searching a MySQL database.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    5,283
    shockuk, often not all pages are crawled and indexed by Google, so relying on that remote search option represents potential gaps in the quality of search.

    Best,
    Hosting Discussion - web hosting community.

    Is your company represented?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Top Secret
    Posts
    11,687
    the advanced search (search type: boolean) isn't suitable?
    Search on WHT has been off for quite some time, at LEAST since the 2.x to 3.5 upgrade. Not sure why, but it is.

    Proof:
    Go to search (natural or boolean, doesn't matter)
    Search for my domain for example (in my profile, don't really want to spamvertise it here)
    In natural, you get 101 pages of stuff, same with boolean, over 1/2 of which my domain is not mentioned. The other half it is.

    Before the v3 upgrade, this wasn't a problem, but now it is a huge one. Customers wanting to do a "search" on a domain get mixed results at best.
    WHMCS Guru - WHMCS addons, management, support and more.
    WHMCS Notifications Extended - Add slack, hipchat, SMS, pushover to WHMCS !!
    Always looking for Linux, WHMCS, Support Desk work. PM for details

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    3,076

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by ttk_2k
    • best AND free AND forum AND software
    • best OR free OR forum OR software
    • best, free, forum, software
    • etc...
    I don't really get how this work. Do you just combine the words AND / OR with the keywords I want to search?

    Like if I want to search for a thread containing the words - "Converse" and also "Vans", do I just type "Converse AND Vans" as the keywords?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by YUPAPA
    I don't really get how this work. Do you just combine the words AND / OR with the keywords I want to search?

    Like if I want to search for a thread containing the words - "Converse" and also "Vans", do I just type "Converse AND Vans" as the keywords?
    eh.. yea, and you also now have to select from "Search Type" for "Boolean", otherwise "AND" will work as "OR".
    Su-Jie Wang
    UI & UX Designer
    Portfolio: SUJ.CO

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •