Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Santa Cruz, California
    Posts
    391

    Installing Lighttpd

    I'd like to lower resources used on my server could someone help me out?

    I used to do

    Code:
    <VirtualHost 65.111.167.95:80>
        ServerAdmin [email protected]
        DocumentRoot /var/www/sites/portalforums.org/
        ServerName CSF
        ErrorLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-error_log
        CustomLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-access_log common
    </VirtualHost>
    
    <VirtualHost 65.111.167.94:80>
        ServerAdmin [email protected]
        DocumentRoot /var/www/sites/cmanns.com/
        ServerName CMANNS.COM
        ErrorLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-error_log
        CustomLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-access_log common
    </VirtualHost>
    
    <VirtualHost 65.111.167.96:80>
        ServerAdmin [email protected]
        DocumentRoot /var/www/sites/ati-video.net
        ServerName ATI-Video-Server
        ErrorLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-error_log
        CustomLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-access_log common
    </VirtualHost>
    
    <VirtualHost 65.111.167.97:80>
         Options +Indexes FollowSymLinks
        ServerAdmin [email protected]
        DocumentRoot /var/www/sites/test
        ServerName ATI-Video-Server
        ErrorLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-error_log
        CustomLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-access_log common
    </VirtualHost>
    I don't know how to use that on Lighttpd it dont work right so yeah. Please help if you could just be very discriptive or just type it for me I've been trying for hours and now have given up.
    [email protected]
    www.xenserv.com Your High Performance Hosting Specialists - Try the Xen Experience Today!
    http://uploadpla.net - My free Media hosting site.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    584
    Have you compiled : Lighttpd + PHP-fcgi for this system ? OR installed the facgi version of PHP and lighttpd specific to your distribution ?
    BLUETRIDENT.NET - Reliable Shared, Reseller and Dedicated Hosting Solutions Provider
    Managed Hosting with Personal Service
    Highspeed Content Servers, Lighttpd, Ruby on Rails, Cluster Servers & Rich Web Application Hosting

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Santa Cruz, California
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by ImZan
    Have you compiled : Lighttpd + PHP-fcgi for this system ? OR installed the facgi version of PHP and lighttpd specific to your distribution ?
    I did

    yum install lighttpd

    I didnt install the php and stuff yet but I don't know how to do this it looks super hard lol
    [email protected]
    www.xenserv.com Your High Performance Hosting Specialists - Try the Xen Experience Today!
    http://uploadpla.net - My free Media hosting site.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    2,416
    If you can't figure out lighttpd, your question really belongs on a lighttpd support forum.

    Lighttpd's configuration IS quite different than Apache's. You can configure it in a simplistic way, or, once comfortable with lighttpd, use its variable and include support to dramatically simplify entries for different domains.

    You are going to need to either have a) good intuition as to how such things ought to work or b) patience to read some documentation, and c) the initiative to use Google a bit.

    Judging by your post history it seems that you need to be nudged to search for your answers, or, perhaps need help in learning how to search for answers.

    Hints:
    - you don't have to use mod_simple_vhost or any of the virtual host related "mods".
    - Look at the examples on the lighttpd *documentation* site: http://trac.lighttpd.net/trac/wiki/Docs%3AConfiguration



    And when you progress, you might look here:
    http://hieraki.simplicio.com/read/chapter/1
    “Even those who arrange and design shrubberies are under
    considerable economic stress at this period in history.”

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Santa Cruz, California
    Posts
    391
    I did use search and google - I finally got php installed but it still gave a error

    ugh I was hoping it'd be simple

    I tryed the mod_simple_vhost and it didnt work either
    [email protected]
    www.xenserv.com Your High Performance Hosting Specialists - Try the Xen Experience Today!
    http://uploadpla.net - My free Media hosting site.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    2,416
    line from Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets:
    Ron, to Harry: Say it, I'm doomed.
    Harry, deadpan: You're doomed.
    "hoping it'd be simple" "still gave an error"

    http://catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

    If you want to help yourself, ask questions the smart way. You might start by posting snippets of your lighttpd error log and lighttpd.conf. Better yet, read the errors and see if that prompts you along the way.
    “Even those who arrange and design shrubberies are under
    considerable economic stress at this period in history.”

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    LA, CA
    Posts
    1,059
    Did you use ./configure --enable-fastcgi --enable-discard-path --enable-force-redirect? It worked for me when I did that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Santa Cruz, California
    Posts
    391
    I don't know how to compile php - I did what it said then I thought about mysql needing to be compiled in eventully I did it all via yim

    Lighttpd I did a search and installed the fast cgi php and mysql for it and I think it gave a error because i had php and apache still installed

    I still dont know how to get my vhosts working - could someone transfer how I have it done for apache above so it'd work on lighttpd
    [email protected]
    www.xenserv.com Your High Performance Hosting Specialists - Try the Xen Experience Today!
    http://uploadpla.net - My free Media hosting site.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    2,416
    Quote Originally Posted by mwatkins
    You might start by posting snippets of your lighttpd error log and lighttpd.conf.
    ... Repeating myself one last time.

    Quote Originally Posted by cmanns
    I think it gave a error because i had php and apache still installed
    Why "think" when you can post the relevant log files, say the last 50 lines or so immediately after you try to start lighttpd.

    hint:
    /var/log/lighttpd.error.log

    hint hint:

    ... lighttpd restart
    tail -n 50 /var/log/lighttpd.error.log

    Copy and paste that here.

    /mw out.
    “Even those who arrange and design shrubberies are under
    considerable economic stress at this period in history.”

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Santa Cruz, California
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by mwatkins
    ... Repeating myself one last time.



    Why "think" when you can post the relevant log files, say the last 50 lines or so immediately after you try to start lighttpd.

    hint:
    /var/log/lighttpd.error.log

    hint hint:

    ... lighttpd restart
    tail -n 50 /var/log/lighttpd.error.log

    Copy and paste that here.

    /mw out.
    it was just trying to make me download index.php I checked logs most of them say starting - stoping and Directory dosent exsist
    [email protected]
    www.xenserv.com Your High Performance Hosting Specialists - Try the Xen Experience Today!
    http://uploadpla.net - My free Media hosting site.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •