Co-lo for dummies

I'm looking at doing personal test projects using space at a co-lo but I've never done anything with co-lo before and I was wondering does anyone have advice on how to get into it?

Here are the things I think I need so far.

IP and AS number from RIPE (If I do go ahead full steam, I'll need an AS number)
    Edge router
    Core router
    Server(s)
    Rackspace
    Transit

Hi!
    Well...if the contracts you have to sign are anything like I've seen..a lawyer would be a nice thing to have. Most colo facilities provide core routers...you would only be responsible for edge routing. Some colo places do not provide UPS..so add that to the list..maybe. Power strips come to mind..as does a decent hub.
    Cables..etc..etc..the list goes on..and..of course..duct tape! Well..maybe the duct tape is optional..but it's just so darn useful!

You are looking at install costs with some locations..some no install costs if you agree to be there at least two months. I'd spend some time here:

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/home/home.htm

And for goodness sake..drop those ideas of getting gear from Ebay..much of it is counterfeit. If you're going to be doing any volume..start a relationship with a distributor. I can't see how you could go wrong buying a small Cisco router to learn on..before leaving it at the colo...although there are router simulation software that will give you a head-start on learning how to config them..as do the manuals available from the link above.

I am working on a colo FAQ..it is about a week away from completion. However...if you have specific questions..like about the 95% billing rule commonly used..reply to the post with specifics.

I wouldn't consider a colo facility that is not close to a Starbuck's w/Wifi and a decent 24/7 restaurant..but that's me.
    Bryon
    Last edited by bryonhost1; 10-27-2006 at 01:43 PM.
    Bryon L Harvey
    Soil Relocation Engineer

Quote Originally Posted by bryonhost1