Thread: Online Forms

Online Forms

I am trying to setup online forms using the commonly available web2mail.cgi script.
    I am unsure of where I should store the web2mail.cgi script and I also do not know what path to enter in the script file for the sendmail program.
    Is this script okay to use or should I be using something else?

I am an extreme newbie so I do apologise for what may be a completely dumb ass question and I would appreciate any replies written in 'newbie sympathetic' language. I am learning heaps by reading this forum so thanks to all those who post and keep up the great work.

Martin Daly - Australia

Re: Online Forms

Originally posted by 123go
    I am trying to setup online forms using the commonly available web2mail.cgi script.
    I am unsure of where I should store the web2mail.cgi script and I also do not know what path to enter in the script file for the sendmail program.

Where you put the web2mail script idepends on the configuration of your server. Most unix flavored servers have a special directory named cgi-bin which is especially configured for scripts such as web2mail.cgi, so if you have access to a directory such as that, it would probably be the place to put it. Some servers will allow you to put such a script anywhere within your account space, so a cgi-bin directory may not be necessary.

Sendmail is usually at /usr/sbin/sendmail, sometimes at /usr/slib/sendmail, but could be about anywhere your server administrator thought it should go. If it is not in one of the two places above, you may need to ask your hosting provider where they put it. If you have shell (telnet/SSH) access, you could log in and enter the command "whereis sendmail" or "which sendmail" or "locate sendmail" to see if you can get the information you need that way.

Is this script okay to use or should I be using something else?

I have no opinion on that particular script, as I have never used it.