Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 73
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    687

    BestofData review (dediboxworld)

    Well, I ordered the server Friday night, last week. I got the SSH info in one hour, and an hour later I got the DirectAdmin info. (they needed the license from DA). Ordering process was easy.

    It was running good until I messed up DA, so I requested a reinstall. It took around 16hours for it to be done.

    I've been pushing good bandwidth, and the server is pretty good for the price. (Right now I have a community running on the server with many users)

    One site I host on here is reyreythemonkey.com .
    Its good for shoutcasting.. and many high bandwidth applications.

    Look at my attached MRTG graph..

    Hope this helps for potential buyers.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails get_mrtg.php.png  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    597
    Good review. We have a few boxes from them, (for our customers) and everyone is happy with them and the network.

    Lets hope they stay like that.
    Ryan Smith

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Worldwide
    Posts
    150
    I too have a box with them.

    Other than dedibox.fr capping the connection during peak hours I love every moment of being a customer with them.

    Those VIA processors really pack a punch too.

    My MRTG Graph is attached.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails get_mrtg.png  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    687
    The first day I got the server, it was capped at 30mbit. But recently during these days, it hasn't been capped.. I've been pushing more than 30mbit during the French "peak" hours. Its awesome being able to pushing 2 TB of traffic or more with a $60 server

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Worldwide
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by Tailseh
    The first day I got the server, it was capped at 30mbit. But recently during these days, it hasn't been capped.. I've been pushing more than 30mbit during the French "peak" hours. Its awesome being able to pushing 2 TB of traffic or more with a $60 server
    It seems to be capped from 16:00-00:00 CEST.. which is the peak for America :-)

    I can push 80Mbit at anytime except for those times

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    84
    30mbit, 3000kb/s is still extremely reasonable. The server is $60 with potential upto 100mbits *unmetered* which is a great deal. I have one from a reseller and have nothing but praise for them!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Worldwide
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by mike_au
    30mbit, 3000kb/s is still extremely reasonable. The server is $60 with potential upto 100mbits *unmetered* which is a great deal. I have one from a reseller and have nothing but praise for them!
    100% Agree Awesome price for what I'm getting.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    32
    Ahh so its not just me hehe. Good to hear

    I wondered why mine was going so slow @ times. There are times when I cannot believe how incredibly fast this is for what I paid so all in all I am very happy as well.

    I have not been able to figure out the timeframe its capped but thanks to the above poster for the time reference.

    For my first server I love it. If the cap stays in place there are other places I can try, this is why I like this forum I already have others lined up in my head

    Thanks for the review..........

    Ed

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    687
    Quote Originally Posted by sticky
    It seems to be capped from 16:00-00:00 CEST.. which is the peak for America :-)

    I can push 80Mbit at anytime except for those times
    Ahh, so I'll watch for those times.. what does CEST mean though? Never heard of that timezone..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Newport Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,920
    it's -6 Central... I think
    Show your reciprocal links on your website. eReferrer

  11. #11
    Their processors are amazingly crappy though.
    I think the VIA C7 2 GHz is compareable to a 1.3 Ghz P3 so that definitely limits the usability.

    At what point would such a processor become a problem?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    977
    Quote Originally Posted by mike_au
    30mbit, 3000kb/s is still extremely reasonable.
    Actually 30mbit is closer to 3700kb/sec.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tertsi
    At what point would such a processor become a problem?
    The moment you try to run PHP or MySQL-intensive applications.

    Now selling BigVPS's!
    Jacksonville Colocation and dedicated servers by colo4jax
    We are *not* a reseller. We own our servers, switches, routers and racks.

  13. #13
    Cap is now, 20Mbit 24/7 It's changed since yesterday.

    EU traffic still seems uncapped though.

    Support, and server deployment is excellent. Just the cap which is in the way.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    687
    For some reason the 20mbit cap doesn't apply to me.. or atleast right now it isn't. I just opened up 36 instances of wget on a 256mb test file.. (which is in layered tech dc) and i'm at 35mbit :/ .. I'll post mrtg graph in a bit.

    BTW, i'm in the 88.191.36.*** range

  15. #15
    I've uploaded graphs from 3 out of my 6 boxes.
    One of the boxes just got online earlier today and is already capped.

    Nearly all of the traffic is to the US. I don't believe EU traffic is capped however, not sure.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails s1.jpg   s2.jpg   s3.jpg  

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    687
    Your new server is capped for sure at 20mbit.. but I just took this graph from the bestofdata control panel:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails get_mrtg.php.png  

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    32
    Kakashi

    I have seen a program that has a graph like that but I cannot remember what it was called and it was I thought wasy to remember hehe. If that is not from some sort of panel from the server can you tell me which program you have. Thanks

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    687
    The program that Kakashi is using is called MRTG.

    (its sooooo hard for me to install... i have no clue how to do it)

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fleet Street
    Posts
    3,243
    (its sooooo hard for me to install... i have no clue how to do it)
    ...why? Compile it, use the configuration generator and you're done.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    32
    Oh thanks. I was wrong the one I thought of was not called that but thanks again

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    687
    Quote Originally Posted by nocebo
    ...why? Compile it, use the configuration generator and you're done.
    I should've made myself a little more clearer. I don't know how to get the smnpd working and able to be read by MRTG.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Newport Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,920
    Quote Originally Posted by Tailseh
    The program that Kakashi is using is called MRTG.

    (its sooooo hard for me to install... i have no clue how to do it)
    It's not mrtg it's rrdtool
    Show your reciprocal links on your website. eReferrer

  23. #23
    I dunno about that When I installed it I recall typing in apt-get install mrtg

  24. #24
    Hello WHT Members,

    Please enter this command (SSH) - Only Linux:
    echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_timestamps

    This command removes normally this actual cap (25-50Mbps).

    Best Regards
    BestOfData - http://www.bestofdata.com - Your Online Gateway To Internet!
    DediboxWorld | SMS Gateway
    BestOfData is the ultimest solutions to all your webservices problems!

  25. #25
    any tips for windows?

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    1,652
    Quote Originally Posted by bestofdata
    Hello WHT Members,

    Please enter this command (SSH) - Only Linux:
    echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_timestamps

    This command removes normally this actual cap (25-50Mbps).

    Best Regards
    Why is it even being capped in the first place if you are selling "umetered" servers?
    Happily hosting @ Dathorn.com (Since 3/2003), Ispeeds.net (Since 2004), & Quadspeedi.net (Since 7/2005)!
    Hosted @ FDC for 9 Years

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Worldwide
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisTech
    Why is it even being capped in the first place if you are selling "umetered" servers?
    Best of Data isnt capping it, Dedibox.fr seems to QoS traffic based on provider.


    I get 100Mbit in France.
    25Mbit to America.
    100Mbit to Sweden.
    100Mbit to Netherlands.

    I don't see why people complain so much about the speed, I have no problem with paying $60 a month for 25mbit with no overage charges.



    Also, people should stop giving BoD a bad rep, they're just a reseller -- They have no control over what Dedibox.fr does.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    687
    Exactly. You guys don't go hard on BoD, it isn't their fault the servers are being capped. Its said that they don't have much communication with Dedibox.fr.. so who knows. Anyway, 100mbit unmetered to europe and 25mbit outbound to the US. Like sticky says, isn't that bad for $60.

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fleet Street
    Posts
    3,243
    Exactly. You guys don't go hard on BoD, it isn't their fault the servers are being capped. Its said that they don't have much communication with Dedibox.fr.. so who knows. Anyway, 100mbit unmetered to europe and 25mbit outbound to the US. Like sticky says, isn't that bad for $60.
    Why are they offering 100mbps then? They need to state exactly what they offer, regardless of WHO places the restriction.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    84
    What are you people nuts?

    1. Its *upto* 100mbps
    2. Its not a 100mbps DEDICATED Port
    3. Even if its QoS capped, who offers *upto* 100mbps @ $60 USD/month with 1gb Ram and 160GB HDD space?

    Your paying $60. You get want you pay for. Stop crying over slow speeds when 20-30mbps IS MORE THAN REASONABLE for the price. To put in a bad way, stop being cheapo's. As always you pay penuts, you get monkeys.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fleet Street
    Posts
    3,243
    Your paying $60. You get want you pay for. Stop crying over slow speeds when 20-30mbps IS MORE THAN REASONABLE for the price. To put in a bad way, stop being cheapo's. As always you pay penuts, you get monkeys.
    You're missing the point. Of course it's reasonable, but it's not what they're ADVERTISING.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Worldwide
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by nocebo
    You're missing the point. Of course it's reasonable, but it's not what they're ADVERTISING.
    Actually it is, I can do 100Mbit to most places in Europe (that count).

    The limitation for American bound bandwidth is the reason they're QoS'ing traffic. Would you be happy with 25mbit or 2mbit?

    Because there would be someone to use 100Mbps to America that would take away bandwidth for you to use, so why not just pick a reasonable number that (most) people would be happy with.

    If people would actually join their IRC channel, you'd find out more information than by ragging on them saying you get slow speeds when they have no control over the bandwidth.

    I just am really happy with them, and I don't really want to see them get a bad rep for something they have no control over. They constantly talk with dedibox.fr and they continuely are vauge with them and make it pretty hard to understand their QoS system.

    You must also realise that this offer was meant only for French Citizens, so the bandwidth is more focused on France, and Europe than America.

    All I can say is hope that this new 10GigE that they're putting in raises the International Caps.

    *edit*

    You must also realise they're advertising the same thing Dedibox.fr is, so don't rag on BoD.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    66
    I'm tired of the fanboyism we're seeing here.

    I don't care if you think it's a fair offer/you get what you pay for.

    They advertise a full 100mbit line. Fact is that they QoS your traffic into oblivion as soon as you quit their local country peering. IMO, this is false advertising.

    But they were good a few weeks ago... Maybe it's just a temporary mesure (however, it's been like that for over a week now).

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fleet Street
    Posts
    3,243
    Actually it is, I can do 100Mbit to most places in Europe (that count).
    Again, not what they're advertising.

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Worldwide
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by nocebo
    Again, not what they're advertising.
    They're just advertising what dedibox is advertising, if you think it's unfair contact dedibox for false advertising.

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    813
    They're just advertising what dedibox is advertising, if you think it's unfair contact dedibox for false advertising.
    thats like saying my local Tesco is selling milk fo 2$ but u have to contact the diary farm for complaints (alrite crap example)


    but its not only US bandwidth thats capped, alot of europe aint that fast either


    i dont mind 30mbit for that price but they should get their advertising right! and mention this cap when advertising for the servers (even in small text!)

  37. #37
    hi
    im new here
    i do like the offer at bestofdata.com
    but i did not get
    Prcoessor: VIA C7 2.0 GHZ
    is it celeron ?

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    84
    Its a VIA, of course its not an Intel or AMD.......

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    813
    its fairly similar to a celeron

  40. #40

    nice

    nice server

    see my graph
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails gen_graph.png  

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •