Thread: Streaming media

Streaming media

Hello everone 1st post here,nice looking fourm folks!!

Ok im planning on building a Video streaming server and hosting from home, as i been looking around here i notice a lot of web hosting/managing sites.
    The site will consist of about 400 movies pay per view.Im thinking its going to have very close to 500G (of WMV,REAL,QT and perhaps Divix) of compressed data.
    Will having someone else host & manage be better then doing it myself, would lets say a business DSL or OPTIMUM business connection handle the bandwith, since there going to be full movies? i want to send out the hightest possable bandwith without crashing.What might be the difference in price for that?

Im really a video editor and have built many systems but never a server ,how strong should this be? Also to keep cost down i would love to be able to do this with some 10,000 RPM W.D RAPTORS on a RAID-10 or 5. Should i have to go SCSI???

Whats the best OS to host this on, im hope to stay in the windows family but willing to learn if its a must, i have a few people going to help keep it safe from hackers etc!!

Thanks for any feed back folks!!!

Liverpool, England, UK.
    With regards to the server hard drives, I would choose SCSI over SATA anyday. Its much better when serving intensive services like multiple streams of video at the same time.

With regards to OS, it depends what application and/or software you are intending to use to stream the video's. Either Windows or Linux are only as secure as the system administrator makes it. Linux is a bit more secure out of the box, but I wouldnt trust either operating system's out of the box without being secured and hardened. - Quality Web Solutions That Work!
    █ Web Hosting | Web Servers | Shoutcast | Domain Names

Providing High Quality Web Solutions Since July 2002! & - No-frills budget web hosting, VPS, shoutcast and domain names!

Memphis, TN