I'm new to this. Please help me find a good host!

Hey everyone, I'm new here. I was wondering if you could help me out... I'm helping my sister shop around because she'd like to put her portfolio online. Since she's an art student I'd like to keep the cost low... something like $6-7 is fair, right? Keep in mind I'm in Canada so if the company is based in the US it's going to be a little more expensive for us.

From looking through the threads I've already decided that we'll be using to register the domain name but now I'm stuck looking for the best cheap, reliable webhost available. So far the only candidate is, most likely the Hatchling plan (3.5 gb, 50gb bandwidth, $6.95 yearly & the support and cpanel are supposed to be very good). I'm kind of afraid to use DreamHost because appearently they oversell, but I'm not even completely sure if this is a bad thing...?

I'm wondering if anyone could suggest other hosts I could look at? Or is this the best plan available? Is there anything else I should take into consideration? Please help, I'm a n00b at all of this...

Brooklyn, NY
    To be honest, If you are new to this and you are looking for a good host i would not recommend a big company. I would go with a small one that can help you by giving you more experience and will help you when you need help. You may be paying the same price for a little less but it will probrablyhelp you in the long run rather than having questions and waiting a while to get it answered. If i remembered right it was host gator if not then it was another but a majority of these large companys do not provide you with the best support. Im not saying their bad they are great just that the time to get tp it may be slower than some others. But if you are not too worried about support then hostgator from what i know is great.
    Vincent W. - Brooklyn, NY - New York Based Shared / Reseller Webhosting Services
    99% Uptime Guaranteed - 30day Money Back Guarantee - Instant Setup