DNS all on one server vs Hosted DNS

I'm quite new to having a dedicated server so please excuse me if this sounds stupid.

Do I need to have a secondary hosted DNS if my site, mail server, etc. are all on one server? Or do should I just have both the primary and secondary dns hosted on my box? Is there any advantage to the secondary DNS being offsite in this situation?

Well the main advantage to having a second "backup" DNS server at a different location, is Redundancy.

Its not required, but if your primary name servers went down, you'd have backups.

But no, you can have all your Name Servers on one box.

If your using cPanel/WHM you can download a free program from cPanel's site called DNSOnly. You can then pickup a couple of cheap dedicated servers in different locations or a couple of VPS's and use them as your dedicated DNS servers.

How does having it on different servers help? If they all point to the 1 server what is the point?

1) Preventing mail from immediately bouncing if MTAs are unable to resolve an A record or MX entry for your domain

2) Preventing lookup failures from being cached thus increasing your outage in the event of a server failure.
    Eric Spaeth
    Enterprise Network Engineer :: Hosting Hobbyist :: Master of Procrastination
    "The really cool thing about facts is they remain true regardless of who states them."

So what should I use as DNS servers? Where should I get some cheap ones?

I think registrars require 2 NS per zone for the reason of redundancy. Just that there are way too many domains having both their NS served on different IPs on the same physical server, which totally defeat the purpose. You can get a cheap VPS with 64Mb RAM and run DNSonly as Eric has suggested. Or look out for free or paid services that can do secondary NS for you (which would probably be cheaper if you don't have lots of domains to host). Scott