Thread: Hosting Noobie

Hosting Noobie

Well as the title says i'm new to this. I was just wondering since all you seem to know, what should I need to run a Web-hosting Site.

Phone software?
    Support Software?
    Billing Software?

Also storing peoples information, what software could be used?

Is all this software even nessasary?

Not sure what exactly you need but here you go.

Phone Software: Skype?
    Support Software: Kayako
    Billing Software: ClienExec

Zac
    <<Please see rules for signature setup>>

Thanks mate, what about storing peoples information?

Most billing software will do this for you. I'd also find a backup solution, and maybe a friendly sysadmin.

sysadmin? I'm new so if you could please provide much information.

Also back to Phone Verifcation, On some hosting sites they have Phone Verification, they call instent (it's a recording).

Friend said it's VOip?

My brother-in-law has a friend who "knows all about computers" and he says that all of that software is NOT necessary. He says it will just bog the server down. He also says don't waste your time with control panel software, just make everyone use the shell. Oh, and make sure they each have full root privileges.

However, he said if you decided you just had to have all that cool software and didn't know anything about web hosting, you could just sign up with a reputable re-seller host that provided all the backend software and services (including transparent support). Then all you would have to do is worry about marketing your site and collecting the money.

P.S. If you are planning on using your handle for your company name, you may want to register that domain before someone else does

Quote Originally Posted by devtx