hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : My host screwed me.

Forum Jump

My host screwed me.

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
Web Hosting Master

My host screwed me.

Hi ,

Host : www.vidahost.com

I have been hosted by vidahost for almost a year now and so far their service has been brilliant and i never found the owner helpless , he is always there when I needed him. My site was a big one and it was about a show that comes on TV and i had about 4k members . The site worths $1k almost.

I'm not very good at maintaning sites so I hired someone else to work on it and I told my host to keep the backup of the site all the time and his replies were something like this

'No worries , we have the backup'
'We backup every new week'

I always used to remind him to keep the backup becouse I don't have it since I don't maintain the site and the person I hire only designs the site. So , I wasn't really caring abt having the backup coze my host promised me that he keeps the backup.

However , yesterday ...my site went down and my host said that their server crashed down and all the backup have lost and i lost my whole website becouse of his one mistake. Since then , im screwed and he didn't really help me..

I somehow have this feeling that this was all planed since my site was taking too much bandwidth ...

I don't really recommend www.vidahost.com to anyone now.

Help me if you can else I'll remain screwed.

regards,
Zafar Ahmed

I'll be glad to hear from you

Sponsored Links
Old
Disabled

You have over 2,000 posts here, and still don't know that you should keep backups, no matter what your host says? Sure, they said they kept them every week, but unless they are utilizing RAID, rsynced to a different drive, or another backup solution, just having your backups on the same drive doesn't do anything when it crashes.

Old