Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    24

    layeredtech down?

    I can't connect to my server, nor to layeredtech.com... how about you?

    Sorry if this post violates some rule.

    Edit: slashdot seems to be down, too!

  2. #2
    i have a layered tech server on the savvis network, and it's accessible from here in california... are you in the savvis dc?

    they demand that you run a 300-ping test, with something like winMTR... have you done that yet?

    i've had a open ticket with layered tech since last week, because people can't get a decent connection to my server.

    your post is like deja vu!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    3,498
    My servers in Savvis are up and running fine.


    Alex

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,163
    All up here, although I am seeing some packetloss:

    Code:
    H:\>tracert www.layeredtech.com
    
    Tracing route to www.layeredtech.com [72.21.34.34]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  10.250.250.250
      2     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  55.f1-0-2.cr1.dur1.uk.razorblue.com [82.163.169.
    108]
      3    30 ms    29 ms    30 ms  126.f1-0-8.cr1.ldn1.uk.razorblue.com [213.130.14
    7.52]
      4    29 ms    29 ms    30 ms  82.163.0.30
      5    30 ms    32 ms    31 ms  ldn-b1-geth11-0-13.telia.net [213.248.75.65]
      6    31 ms    31 ms    30 ms  ldn-bb1-pos1-1-0.telia.net [213.248.64.97]
      7   102 ms   104 ms   103 ms  nyk-bb1-pos0-2-0.telia.net [213.248.65.90]
      8   112 ms   160 ms   100 ms  nyk-b1-link.telia.net [213.248.82.14]
      9   114 ms   110 ms   109 ms  dcr3-so-6-0-0.newyork.savvis.net [208.173.129.13
    ]
     10   110 ms   110 ms   109 ms  bcs1-so-1-1-0.newyork.savvis.net [204.70.192.186
    ]
     11   134 ms   115 ms   115 ms  bcs2-so-4-0-0.washington.savvis.net [204.70.192.
    1]
     12   113 ms   130 ms   129 ms  dcr1-so-3-0-0.atlanta.savvis.net [204.70.192.53]
    
     13   234 ms   146 ms   148 ms  dcr1-so-1-2-0.dallas.savvis.net [204.70.192.74]
    
     14   125 ms   150 ms   126 ms  dcr2-as0-0.atlanta.savvis.net [204.70.192.42]
     15   146 ms   147 ms   148 ms  csr1-ve242.fortworthda1.savvis.net [216.39.64.58
    ]
     16   147 ms   147 ms   147 ms  216.39.69.50
     17     *      177 ms     *     216.39.69.50
     18   147 ms       *       147 ms  www1.layeredtech.com [72.21.34.34]
    
    Trace complete.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    785
    Hello,

    No we are not down and no network issues have been reported. If you need assistance please open a ticket or look at using a 3rd party email account to open one if you are unable to reach the support portal. Also since you state both Slashdot and us are down for you I would look at your local ISP or DNS as the cause of your problems.

    Thanks,

    Jeremy

    EDIT this could be the cause of your problems if your ISP uses Level3

    http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=551790

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    34,793
    Seems a couple of hiccups there from http://dns-tools.domaintools.com/?q=...m&m=traceroute

    1. 0.66ms 0.30ms 1.12ms 66.249.16.130
    2. 0.53ms 0.28ms 1.67ms 216.145.11.145
    3. 0.33ms 0.52ms 0.43ms 19c2-18s2.sea.fibercloud.NET
    4. 0.86ms 0.80ms 0.73ms 19b2-19c2.sea.fibercloud.NET
    5. 0.46ms 0.57ms 0.64ms sl-gw11-sea-2-0.sprintlink.net
    6. 0.66ms 0.80ms 0.49ms sl-bb21-sea-9-3.sprintlink.net
    7. 0.64ms 1.01ms 0.22ms bpr4-so-7-3-0.SeattleSwitchDesign.savvis.net
    8. 0.28ms 0.19ms 12.10ms acr2-as0-0.seattle.savvis.net
    9. 55.90ms 56.98ms 55.74ms dcr2-so-1-0-0.Denver.savvis.net
    10. 100.11ms 100.85ms 55.83ms dcr1-so-5-0-0.denver.savvis.net
    11. * * * Request Timed Out
    12. 55.67ms 55.64ms 56.01ms dcr2-so-6-0-0.dallas.savvis.net
    13. 56.25ms 56.44ms 56.90ms bhr1-pos-1-0.fortworthda1.savvis.net
    14. 56.28ms 56.51ms 56.52ms csr1-ve242.fortworthda1.savvis.net
    15. 56.95ms 56.97ms 57.20ms 216.39.69.50
    16. * * * Request Timed Out
    17. 56.86ms 56.48ms 56.56ms www1.layeredtech.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by anon-e-mouse
    Seems a couple of hiccups there from http://dns-tools.domaintools.com/?q=...m&m=traceroute

    1. 0.66ms 0.30ms 1.12ms 66.249.16.130
    2. 0.53ms 0.28ms 1.67ms 216.145.11.145
    3. 0.33ms 0.52ms 0.43ms 19c2-18s2.sea.fibercloud.NET
    4. 0.86ms 0.80ms 0.73ms 19b2-19c2.sea.fibercloud.NET
    5. 0.46ms 0.57ms 0.64ms sl-gw11-sea-2-0.sprintlink.net
    6. 0.66ms 0.80ms 0.49ms sl-bb21-sea-9-3.sprintlink.net
    7. 0.64ms 1.01ms 0.22ms bpr4-so-7-3-0.SeattleSwitchDesign.savvis.net
    8. 0.28ms 0.19ms 12.10ms acr2-as0-0.seattle.savvis.net
    9. 55.90ms 56.98ms 55.74ms dcr2-so-1-0-0.Denver.savvis.net
    10. 100.11ms 100.85ms 55.83ms dcr1-so-5-0-0.denver.savvis.net
    11. * * * Request Timed Out
    12. 55.67ms 55.64ms 56.01ms dcr2-so-6-0-0.dallas.savvis.net
    13. 56.25ms 56.44ms 56.90ms bhr1-pos-1-0.fortworthda1.savvis.net
    14. 56.28ms 56.51ms 56.52ms csr1-ve242.fortworthda1.savvis.net
    15. 56.95ms 56.97ms 57.20ms 216.39.69.50
    16. * * * Request Timed Out
    17. 56.86ms 56.48ms 56.56ms www1.layeredtech.com
    There is absolutely no issue with that traceroute.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    785
    I stand corrected there may be an issue at our second DC. We are looking into the matter now and will update our forums with further details. The main layeredtech.com site, forums and support portal are not hosted at that location so please open a ticket if you need assistance.

    Thanks,

    Jeremy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    WebHostingTalk
    Posts
    16,951
    Yes, some of our clients are experiencing it too.

    I hope they will be able to fix this asap.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    490
    I'm not sure at what facility I'm hosted but my server isn't working either.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    WebHostingTalk
    Posts
    16,951
    Quote Originally Posted by vexxhost
    I'm not sure at what facility I'm hosted but my server isn't working either.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy from LT Forum
    Hello,

    We are experiencing some network issues at the DC2 location and will update this post with more details as they are found. These issues are only affecting clients in the following ranges.

    72.232.176.0 > 72.232.255.255

    No other ranges or hosts are affected. Our support portal, forums and other systems are not located in that range so please use the ticket system if you require assistance.

    Thanks,

    Jeremy

    They have rebooted 1 device already and should be back to normal shortly. I hope.

  12. #12
    Yippeeee another DataBank outage!

    Didn't we have one last month too?

    Hope this one does not last as long!

  13. #13
    Still Down

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    56

    Server inaccessible from some locations

    One of my customers reported an issue he was having from his office only (not from home, and I can't reproduce the problem on any of my networks). I had him trace it:

    Tracing route to (removed).com [72.36.149.XXX]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 12 ms 12 ms 13 ms 10.120.0.1
    2 11 ms 12 ms 13 ms gw.fctvplus.net [69.60.179.1]
    3 16 ms 12 ms 14 ms t3-3-3.core2-fr-ma.pipelinewireless.us [67.99.80
    ..253]
    4 15 ms 17 ms 17 ms et-1-4-core1-fr-ma.pipeline-wireless.net [67.99.
    82.30]
    5 26 ms 23 ms 21 ms 65.90.199.145
    6 32 ms 33 ms 24 ms p7-0.c0.nwyk.broadwing.net [216.140.10.13]
    7 36 ms 52 ms 26 ms 216.140.17.121
    8 51 ms 38 ms 29 ms 216.140.8.174
    9 32 ms 44 ms 27 ms G1-1.rp0.asbn.broadwing.net [216.140.8.78]
    10 31 ms 26 ms 26 ms sl-st21-ash-4-2.sprintlink.net [144.223.246.81]

    11 52 ms 25 ms 23 ms cpr1-pos6-0.VirginiaEquinix.savvis.net [208.173.
    50.165]
    12 30 ms 28 ms 29 ms bcs2-so-5-0-0.Washington.savvis.net [206.24.238.
    217]
    13 62 ms 57 ms 55 ms dcr2-so-7-2-0.Atlanta.savvis.net [204.70.192.57]

    14 71 ms 64 ms 65 ms dcr2-so-2-0-0.dallas.savvis.net [204.70.192.70]

    15 67 ms 77 ms 75 ms dcr1-so-6-0-0.dallas.savvis.net [204.70.192.49]

    16 70 ms 68 ms 67 ms 216.39.64.2
    17 73 ms 77 ms 67 ms 216.39.69.234
    18 67 ms 65 ms * 216.39.69.234
    19 * * * Request timed out.


    This seems related to me. I'm on a different subnet than the one listed, so I'll head over to the LT forums.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    785
    Quote Originally Posted by alanp
    Still Down

    Please contact our support team via the portal at https://support.layeredtech.com/home and open a ticket. We can have your host looked into right away. If you already have an old ticket open please create a new one referencing the old one and we can get you fixed up.

    As for the client having issues with [72.36.149.XXX] that host is located in our Savvis IDC and was not affected by this issue. Please open a support ticket and provide the traceroute and ping details to our support staff.


    1: Dos or Shell based 300 ping count. Showing ONLY the end results not all 300 pings.

    2: Dos or Shell based traceroute to your server from your remote location. Text file format only please. Our upstreams will not accept images. Please do NOT mask your IP address

    3: Dos or Shell based traceroute from your server to your remote location. Text file format only please. Our upstreams will not accept images. Please do NOT mask your IP address

    4: 'root' or administrator logins to your host so we can confirm the network configuration on your host and perform additional tests if needed.

    5: Information about any firewalls or packet filters you might be running

    6: Information about the application you are experiencing the latency in.

    7: Information on how to possibly replicate the problem.


    Thanks,

    Jeremy

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by LTADMIN
    As for the client having issues with [72.36.149.XXX] that host is located in our Savvis IDC and was not affected by this issue.
    jeremy, there is something wrong in the savvis dc as well, per the HVW-48564-329 ticket that i submitted to you guys last week... so it's topical to the title of this thread.

    i was able to confirm that when a udp-based ping test to 72.36.218.XXX timed out in the savvis dc, my server was not accessible via the web browser.

    your layered tech hourly traffic stats for my server during that period showed a max 1.7Mbit traffic spike, so my server should not have been overloaded.

    i have also been seeing a consistent 50% imcp-based packet loss to that i.p. with winMTR, and your 216.39.66.26 i.p. upstream from it... but there is no packet loss when i winMTR the 216.39.66.26 i.p. directly.

    so it appears that MyWebMetrics and i are both having the same problems?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •