Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    111

    FDC DNS servers not working?

    Suddenly my box lost the ability to translate DNS. I cannot get any names resolved yet I can ping the FDC DNS servers. Anyone know some public DNS IPs I could use to see if that works? Anyone else experiencing this flakyness from their FDC boxes?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,899
    wormy,

    easiest way to fix this is just use localhost for dns resolution (add 127.0.0.1 to your /etc/resolv.conf file) provided you run named/bind or another dns server daemon on your box.

    In any case I can't confirm/deny fdc's dns state as I don't use their nameservers myself anywhere.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    111
    Im not sure I am running a dns server, a ps aux doesnt list one. In my resolv.conf I have these two IPs listed:

    4.2.2.3
    4.2.2.4

    And I had 66.90.68.25 and 66.90.68.26 listed in my /etc/network/interfaces file. Is anyone else set up on FDC that can confirm DNS is working or not working?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by wormy
    Im not sure I am running a dns server, a ps aux doesnt list one. In my resolv.conf I have these two IPs listed:

    4.2.2.3
    4.2.2.4

    And I had 66.90.68.25 and 66.90.68.26 listed in my /etc/network/interfaces file. Is anyone else set up on FDC that can confirm DNS is working or not working?
    Those are not FDC's resolvers.

    Those are Level 3's public resolvers.

    This post might help you.

    http://www.fdcservers.net/vbulletin/...6670#post16670

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by layer0
    Those are not FDC's resolvers.

    Those are Level 3's public resolvers.

    This post might help you.

    http://www.fdcservers.net/vbulletin/...6670#post16670
    That certainly looks helpful.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    0
    these work for me:
    search fdcservers.net
    nameserver 208.53.159.60
    nameserver 208.53.159.62
    nameserver 66.90.68.15
    nameserver 66.90.68.16

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    barnsley uk
    Posts
    401
    anyone else having issues today with dns also slow speeds?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    malaysia
    Posts
    96
    super slow...slow response....when i wget something, need wait very long..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    111
    My DNS has died again on FDC. I asked my reseller and they said one of the two servers was down and they switche my nameservers

    My reseller told me 208.53.159.60 is inaccessible for the time being so they changed the order of the nameservers and put 208.53.159.62 first but I still can't ping/resolve from my shell properly. And another post on the fdc forums said that level3 has BANNED the use of their 4.2.2.2 server from anyone at FDC.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    111
    After I cleared some dns junk from my /etc/networks/interfaces the above setup did start to work but resolution is still super slow.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    barnsley uk
    Posts
    401
    yes they switched mine for me too not that it helps the other 3 vpses thats on my server looks like im in for a sleepless day waiting for customers comming online so i can setup there resolvers

  12. #12
    Does anyone know how to fix this:
    Ive set up my own resolver (127.0.0.1), but I cant resolve (cant send emails from servers, wget and etc...).

  13. #13
    I just got these from support, they asked for login details and updated the resolv.conf

    nameserver 66.90.68.25
    nameserver 66.90.68.15
    nameserver 66.90.68.16

    Things are FAST again!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    606
    im facing the same problem and support seems to be dening any issues with resolvers! Over the last 4 months with FDC only problems i had are resolvers and the helpdesk always dening a issue but when they look at my server its always "oo it was the resolvers we changed it to the correct ones"

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    111
    Yeah I had the same problem yet again but my FDC reseller(pixelfx) fixed it in a snap by giving us their own dns instead of relying on generic FDC resellers.

  16. #16
    I have had nothing but trouble with FDC after the first month. They were great for that first month.Thier name servers just keep going down and as stated earlyer they deny any problems,always saying its my fault.I have lost ALOT money thanks to my poor choice of a host.Save yourselvs alot of time monney and heartach and stay away from fdc.btw 208.53.159.60 & 208.53.159.62 seem to be working for now....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •