hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting Talk Tutorials : Web Design and Content Tutorials : Flash and XML?

Forum Jump

Flash and XML?

Reply Post New Thread In Web Design and Content Tutorials Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2006, 12:22 PM
Web Hosting Guru

Flash and XML?

Just got out of a meeting and this is what I need to learn. I need to learn how to have flash read off a XML file and generate data from that. I just want a feel as to how hard this will be to learn when I have no flash knowledge (don't know any actionscript or the program itself actually), just very basic XML knowledge, and hardly any javascript knowledge (I don't know if JS would be involved in this). I need to know where to start. If I start learning flash, should I jump right into actionscript or go through simple tutorials on using the program (buttons, tweening, etc.)

Also, let's say the flash file/movie has a lot of pictures, and you want to filter them using a specific property (e.g. by name, date, etc.), how easy would that be to implement?

Also, flash and XML working together, would be considered a branch or something that's similar to AJAX? It's not the same though, right?

Sponsored Links
Old 01-17-2011, 08:18 AM

Hi

Adobe Flash (formerly Macromedia Flash) is a multimedia platform used to add animation, video, and interactivity to web pages. Flash is frequently used for advertisements and games. More recently, it has been positioned as a tool for "Rich Internet Applications" ("RIAs").

XML (Extensible Markup Language) is a set of rules for encoding documents electronically. It is defined in the produced by the W3C and several other related specifications; all are fee-free open standards

Thanks

Last edited by the_pm; 01-17-2011 at 01:57 PM. Reason: Please set up signature in profile
Old 01-19-2011, 08:49 AM