Problems with my dedicated server( too much connections on database)

Hello everyone! this is my first time using this forum
    I have a couple question
    I have a dedicated server with
    Dual Intel XeonE 2.8 GHz CPUs
    3Gb DDR2-400 ECC RAM
    250 GB Drive
    1500 GB Bandwidth included

my site recives a lot of hit everyday (arround 500,000 pageviews)
    im using a system gallery called 4images
    and when i get arround 300 users online i get and error Too many connections
    i tried to change the settings on the etc/my.conf but all it does is go slower
    some people have told me to get 2 servers one for the mysql database and other one for the website
    and other have tell me to get a fully managed server
    so what are u recomendation or solution?

California USA
    Getting two dedicated servers would be the way to go, one for mysql one for apache. Maybe even using lighttpd on the web end of things.
    Steven Ciaburri | Proactive Linux Server Management -
    Managed Servers (AS62710), Server Management, and Security Auditing.

issue mysqladmin processlist once processes start piling up and try to optimize slow queries

optimize the slow queries and combine that with balancing out the selects amongst several servers. You may also look into your my.cnf settings to see if anything is odd. A good management service should also be of assistance though, at some point, the only viable solution may just be buying a bit more hardware to accomodate growth.

Which database version? Are these your DB calls or another package? Some programs are very DB hog like which makes for these issues. You might see if there are updates that fix these DB issues.
    Computer: A machine that can make the wrong decision faster that you!

It would be better you go with the two dedicated servers for the outcome of this issue.

Newport Beach, CA