Question Main account / Addon account: Your advise is required.

Hi,

I want to ask one question. It is a very basic, it should be as I am very new in hosting.

I have signed up with a hosting company. I am entitled to add more than 10 Addon accounts.

The URL of the main account, for instance is www.abc.com.

In the public_html there is a folder names abc to store the files.

I have added an Addon domain, by the name, for instance, www.xyz.com. In the public_html there is a folder named xyz to hold the files of the Addon account. FYI, the Addon account is Joomla based which I installed by Fantastico.

Based on above scenario, I have following queries:

1. Main account:
    When I type www. abc.com and hit enter the main page of site is displayed but in address bar www.abc.com/abc appears (abc is name of the folder in public_html). www.abc.com should be in the address bar.

2. Addon account:
    As mentioned above I have Addon account by the name www.xyz.com. When I type www.abc.com, the homepage of the site is displayed with www.xyz.com. This is fine so far. But, when I hover on the links of the site, www.abc.com/abc/<folder> is displayed in the status bar (bottom of the browser). I think this is wrong, there should be no reference to the main site i.e. www.abc.com when I am accessing Addon account.
    Second problem is that in the brower's title bar abc.com is being appered ,which I think is wrong. There should be xyz.com in the title bar as Addon account is being accessed.

Please advise what should I do. I want both accounts to be separated from each other. Am I doing something wrong?

Looking forward,

Riz
    Either they believe in me, trust me, and are willing to take the risk that I will deliver success, or they don't. It's that simple. There's no haggling. I don't negotiate. - Michael Bloomberg

What control panel are you using?

Hi,