advice needed for very big phpbb forum

Hello guys,

I recently acquired a very big phpbb forum; it reach up to 400 users in peak hours.

The main problem is that I have to change its hosting and that.. I'm a noob
    That'd be great if you can give me some advices.

Well, here are some questions:

1= which one would be better for my forum (up to 400 users together)? Vps? Dedicated? Other? (I have no idea, sorry)
    2= what about CPU and RAM of the server? How much does my forum need?
    3= how much bandwith do I need (approx.)?

And.. which hosting do you suggest me?
    I'm not going to spend big bucks.. but I fully understand that it's better to spend a little more than to have problems in future.
    So, let's say my budget is in the average - upper average.

Thank you very much for reading this.

New York City
    For this amount of users I would recommend a dedicated server. A VPS could be easily overloaded with that many concurrent mysql connections. Personally, I wouldnt use anything below an AMD 64 3200 machine as that should more than suffice for your needs. If you wanted the best, you could go opteron or xeon - AMD Athlon 64 should do well enough, though.

for instance - for $90 you can get this servers at Layered Technologies

It is an AMD 64 3200, 1 gig ram, 1500 gigs bandwidth (1.5 terrabytes), an 80 gig hard drive, and 5 usable IP's.

I think that is reasonable and should cover your needs.

No, I'm not an LT fanboy - I like softlayer the most to be honest. But if you dont want to spend an arm and a leg, it's worth it.

Also, so I dont get slammed for this -

Dont go unmanaged dedicated if you dont know how to manage a server. Or, you could get an unmanaged server and hire a company like Platinum Server Management.

Matthew Rosenblatt, and I do lots of things.
    Currently a Master Electrician on Broadway.
    My company, BurstAV, specializes in A/V Systems Design and integration.