Results 1 to 27 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346

    Question My issue or powervps's issue?

    Hello,

    I have signed up an account since August 28, and it is nearly a month. But I am considering to cancel my account.

    There is only one reason make me want to cancel is stable of server (?).

    My forum is not so big, just there are about 60 (members +guests) online, but sometime it is difficult for them to login to my forum and opens thread or creat a new thread and it is slow. They click serveral times to "Submit new thread" or "post new reply"... button and the same number of posts are posted or sometime "The page can not displayed".

    I wonder, that is my forum issue or server's issue?

    Can you give me any advice?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Merville BC
    Posts
    608
    Have you asked powervps for advice?
    Three out of four people make up 75 percent of the population

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    362
    If you bought their smallest package then it's your issue if all resources are being consumed. If you have their top package then it might still not be their issue.... best bet? Contact PowerVPS and let them know what's happenning.

    What does top show?
    How about cat /proc/user_beancounters?

    Good luck!
    Host, YES!
    Reselling? Partner for profit instead!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346
    Quote Originally Posted by kelownatech
    Have you asked powervps for advice?
    Yes, I asked them and they said, my forum loads without any problem.

    This is my top's result:

    top - 13:24:46 up 17 days, 17:56, 1 user, load average: 0.51, 0.53, 0.50
    Tasks: 47 total, 1 running, 46 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 0.8% us, 0.1% sy, 0.0% ni, 99.1% id, 0.0% wa, 0.0% hi, 0.0% si
    Mem: 8173660k total, 244068k used, 7929592k free, 0k buffers
    Swap: 8385888k total, 160976k used, 8224912k free, 0k cached
    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    9547 nobody 16 0 34900 15m 13m D 3 0.2 65:08.75 httpd
    1 root 15 0 1616 608 1424 S 0 0.0 0:15.43 init
    6038 root 15 0 1520 560 1356 S 0 0.0 2:07.32 syslogd
    9442 root 16 0 2068 812 1740 S 0 0.0 0:04.35 xinetd
    10003 root 16 0 3824 1500 3392 S 0 0.0 0:05.30 pure-ftpd
    10067 root 15 0 3564 720 3224 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 pure-authd
    11321 root 35 19 17048 11m 4240 S 0 0.1 1:40.41 cpanellogd
    11380 root 15 0 10520 3080 8016 S 0 0.0 0:05.75 cppop
    11560 nobody 18 0 3776 1340 2516 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 entropychat
    11669 nobody 18 0 1672 320 1336 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 melange
    11721 32001 16 0 9104 2728 3480 S 0 0.0 0:00.39 stunnel-4.15loc
    11912 root 16 0 4032 932 3688 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 saslauthd
    11946 root 16 0 4032 932 3688 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 saslauthd
    11974 root 18 0 1476 404 1312 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 portsentry
    24031 root 15 0 9616 2756 2704 S 0 0.0 0:33.33 chkservd
    24326 mailnull 16 0 7312 1696 6376 S 0 0.0 0:04.90 exim
    24332 mailnull 16 0 7312 1700 6376 S 0 0.0 0:05.52 exim
    Can you see any problem?

    When I ping my ip, it shows 209ms.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Coimbra, Portugal
    Posts
    236
    Those loads seems ok to a vps running a forum with 60+ active users and Cpanel.

    Can you please show us a traceroute from you to vps and the output of "cat /proc/user_beancounters"?

    Regards


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346
    Quote Originally Posted by sspt
    Those loads seems ok to a vps running a forum with 60+ active users and Cpanel.

    Can you please show us a traceroute from you to vps and the output of "cat /proc/user_beancounters"?

    Regards
    it can not show this:

    -jailshell: cat/proc/user_beancounters: No such file or directory



    Tracerout's result:

    |------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
    | WinMTR statistics |
    | Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
    |------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
    | web.setup - 0 | 31 | 31 | 0 | 4 | 60 | 0 |
    | KHP059137201225.ppp-bb.dion.ne.jp - 0 | 31 | 31 | 0 | 11 | 40 | 10 |
    | sjk-ChibaminatoML01.bb.kddi.ne.jp - 0 | 31 | 31 | 0 | 8 | 30 | 10 |
    | sjkBBML03.bb.kddi.ne.jp - 0 | 31 | 31 | 0 | 7 | 20 | 20 |
    | sjkBBAC01.bb.kddi.ne.jp - 0 | 31 | 31 | 0 | 8 | 10 | 10 |
    | sjkBBCR01.bb.kddi.ne.jp - 0 | 31 | 31 | 0 | 8 | 10 | 0 |
    | otejbb305.bb.kddi.ne.jp - 0 | 31 | 31 | 0 | 7 | 10 | 10 |
    | otejbb204.kddnet.ad.jp - 0 | 30 | 30 | 0 | 9 | 40 | 10 |
    | otecbb103.kddnet.ad.jp - 0 | 30 | 30 | 0 | 18 | 150 | 10 |
    | gsr-sc2.kddnet.ad.jp - 0 | 30 | 30 | 100 | 111 | 210 | 110 |
    | ix-sj1.kddnet.ad.jp - 0 | 30 | 30 | 110 | 129 | 211 | 120 |
    | ge4-1.cr02.sjo01.pccwbtn.net - 0 | 30 | 30 | 110 | 124 | 391 | 110 |
    | dtg.ge10-2.br02.ash01.pccwbtn.net - 0 | 30 | 30 | 190 | 210 | 370 | 200 |
    | eqash89.keepitsecure.net - 0 | 30 | 30 | 200 | 216 | 310 | 200 |
    | host.mydomain.net - 0 | 30 | 30 | 200 | 211 | 230 | 220 |
    |________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
    Last edited by manindarkjp; 09-24-2006 at 01:44 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,506
    There is a spacing between cat and /

    Remember to login as root as well....
    tanfwc
    Singapore Managed Colocation
    Singapore BGP Announcement

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    448
    How about MySQL/Apache optimization? That should boost your forum a bit. You should be aiming at eAccelerator in my opinion as well.
    Have a question?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346
    I got their reply about my issuse.

    I can see Zend Optimizer and Eaccelerator are not installed in the vps. I suggest to have them install in the vps.


    Once Zend Optimizer and Eaccelerator is installed in the vps you will see the difference immediately in the loading speed of the website. Please let us know if you want us to go ahead with it.
    Do I have to ask them to install those scripts? why they donot tell me when I got the problem?

    edit: How can I know it is installed or not?
    Last edited by manindarkjp; 09-25-2006 at 08:24 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,506
    If you are using cPanel, run this command

    /scripts/installzendopt

    This will install the Zend Optimizer for you.

    Do I have to ask them to install those scripts?
    They said if you want them to install, you let them know.

    why they donot tell me when I got the problem?
    This is not a problem they should let you know. PowerVPS take care of the uptime of your server. If any services fail, they will handle for you. Remember they provide you the VPS not maintaining your script/software.
    tanfwc
    Singapore Managed Colocation
    Singapore BGP Announcement

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346
    Quote Originally Posted by tanfwc
    If you are using cPanel, run this command

    /scripts/installzendopt

    This will install the Zend Optimizer for you.

    Do I have to ask them to install those scripts?
    They said if you want them to install, you let them know.

    why they donot tell me when I got the problem?
    This is not a problem they should let you know. PowerVPS take care of the uptime of your server. If any services fail, they will handle for you. Remember they provide you the VPS not maintaining your script/software.
    Thank you. But I wonder, what is the meaning of "full managed"?

    THeir server makes my forum slower than shared hosting speed and when I sent them a ticket to tell them that issue, they still said that my forum is loading fine without any problem.

    Since I sent them email and told them that I want to cancel my account. Finally, they found the problem and even now, they are working on this issue and I am still waiting for their reply. (about 4hours).

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    103
    Different comapnys have different meanings of full management, your best bet would be to contact them to find out what their management includes.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    60 active users online is not much. We have had a VPS customer running a large VB forum with average 100 users online (ocassionally 200-300 users) and it worked fine. I think the problem might be CPanel. Cpanel will install all sorts of application that you may not need. Always keep your VPS lean and mean, that means, only install the application you need. And configure your PHP/Apache to only load the modules you need. This will reduce your memory usage.

    Also, "cat /proc/user_beancounters" may tell you what other problem may possibly exist in your VPS.
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346
    Quote Originally Posted by FHDave
    Also, "cat /proc/user_beancounters" may tell you what other problem may possibly exist in your VPS.
    Do you mean the top result will tell me what the problem is?

    My friend went with goddady.com's VPS (Economy Plan), there are always about over 100 members (it is adult site) on his forum and it is running without any problem. I saw a lot of bad review about goddady.com, that why I did not go with them.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    cat /proc/user_beancounters may tell you if any of your VPS parameter has been maxed out (thus, cusing problem). So, paste the output of your user_beancounters (everything).
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346
    Quote Originally Posted by FHDave
    cat /proc/user_beancounters may tell you if any of your VPS parameter has been maxed out (thus, cusing problem). So, paste the output of your user_beancounters (everything).
    I typed this command via SSH, but it did not show anything.

    cat /proc/user_beancounters

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by manindarkjp
    I typed this command via SSH, but it did not show anything.
    did you put a space after cat? cat (space) /

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346
    Quote Originally Posted by ezXEN
    did you put a space after cat? cat (space) /
    Yes, I did.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    dit it give you any error? e.g. fork error, etc?

    If it does not give you any error, ask your provider to give your VPS user_beancounters. They can give you this information without entering your VPS.

    Having said this, my original recommendation still stands. You should not be installing CPanel/WHM in the first place, unless if you need to host multiple domains and each domain having their own control panel access. Otherwise, you are just wasting your VPS resourves on the control panel. If needed, there are many other light weight control panel, e.g. CPPlus, etc.`
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    103
    i would go with webmin or direct admin on a vps, I agree cPanel is a resource hog...
    || Josh Anderson - CVO A&M Hosting
    || A&M Hosting | Virtual Private Servers
    || US | UK
    || No overselling guaranteed

  21. #21
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346
    Quote Originally Posted by FHDave
    dit it give you any error? e.g. fork error, etc?
    It is not a kind of error, but it doesnot show anything. After I typed this command then Enter. It is like this.

    [email protected] [~]# cat /proc/user_beancounters
    [email protected] [~]#

  22. #22
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346
    I did not login as a root so that why it doesnot show. This is information I got.


    Version: 2.5
    uid resource held maxheld barrier limit failcnt
    4468: kmemsize 8793732 8866665 16826368 25952256 0
    lockedpages 0 0 3686 4096 0
    privvmpages 121769 123207 263621 292912 0
    shmpages 6235 6235 131072 131072 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    numproc 89 89 400 400 0
    physpages 61775 62661 0 2147483647 0
    vmguarpages 0 0 65536 2147483647 0
    oomguarpages 61786 62672 2147483647 2147483647 0
    numtcpsock 44 48 500 500 0
    numflock 6 7 200 220 0
    numpty 3 3 64 64 0
    numsiginfo 0 2 512 512 0
    tcpsndbuf 48172 88968 5365760 10485760 0
    tcprcvbuf 0 692 5365760 10485760 0
    othersockbuf 24072 286396 1503232 4063232 0
    dgramrcvbuf 0 0 235930 262144 0
    numothersock 22 24 500 500 0
    dcachesize 658378 663544 8388608 8634368 0
    numfile 2385 2388 13107 13107 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    numiptent 282 282 10240 10240 0

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    448
    manindarkjp, type:

    php -v

    If eAccelerator and ZendOpt. are installed you will see the information on the output. I do suggest that you go ahead and get these installed.

    You're not hitting any resource limits by looking at that user_beancounter output, though.
    Have a question?

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346
    Quote Originally Posted by Milovan
    manindarkjp, type:

    php -v

    If eAccelerator and ZendOpt. are installed you will see the information on the output. I do suggest that you go ahead and get these installed.

    You're not hitting any resource limits by looking at that user_beancounter output, though.
    Hello,

    They installed these for me 15 minutes ago.

    PHP 4.4.2 (cli) (built: Jul 16 2006 09:03:14)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2006 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v1.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2004 Zend Technologies
    with eAccelerator v0.9.3, Copyright (c) 2004-2005 eAccelerator, by eAccelerator
    with Zend Extension Manager v1.0.9, Copyright (c) 2003-2006, by Zend Technologies
    with Zend Optimizer v2.6.2, Copyright (c) 1998-2006, by Zend Technologies
    After installing, my board is getting better and at this moment, my board runs without any problem.

    One more question, how can I save my resource? I mean, my my board gets busy, I want to use all my resource for it only.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    Quote Originally Posted by manindarkjp
    One more question, how can I save my resource? I mean, my my board gets busy, I want to use all my resource for it only.
    Do you need CPanel/WHM? If you only have one domain, get a much lighter control panel (CPPlus works great for one domain). You will have more resources available to your VPS this way.
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  26. #26
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Vietnam and Japan
    Posts
    346
    Quote Originally Posted by FHDave
    Do you need CPanel/WHM? If you only have one domain, get a much lighter control panel (CPPlus works great for one domain). You will have more resources available to your VPS this way.
    Yes, I need. I have 2 sites. One is Homepage and another one is forum. I havenot run my homepage yet, but next 2 weeks, I will transfer it to VPS (it is current go with shared hosting).

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,446
    I would recommend LxAdmin or ServerCP for a VPS. As mentioned, CPanel is so much of a resource hog it really costs the end user quite a bit of RAM that they could normally use elsewhere.

    I also must mention that we originally were going to test the waters -- reselling PowerVPS. We ordered 3 VPS' for testing and even added the ECSPortal.com main site to it. We quickly found out just how much they limit you. We placed 18-20 tickets with PowerVPS to fix the load issues (12.0+ always) load average in the VPS with 1 website. Not even a forum....nothing just ecsportal.com. They kept trying to blame us even though we had ran it on a VPS with the exact same supposed specs before. PowerVPS I think is pretty good but I can say that if they really don't oversell like they say they don't, then they are putting some proxies / spammers or something on the other VPS'. I can just imagine what the node load was.

    We killed all of the extra crap and left just exim and CPanel running. Still took 8-10 seconds per click to just browse through email in squirrelmail. Was just ridiculous.

    Since that point of course we moved ECSPortal in-house at Serverorigin and it is currently on one of our VPS' as is Serverorigin. It is actually allocated 256mb ram burstable to 512 and we have no issues. CPanel we ONLY kept since there wasn't an easy migration path to anything else at the time and we were just lazy...But it still runs at about 283MB for JUST ecsportal.com/serverorigin.com and the forum on one box. CPanel is big thumbs down in my opinion.
    Last edited by FiberPeer; 09-28-2006 at 04:59 AM.
    FiberPeer.Com | | REAL DDoS Protection | Cloud Hosting | VPS | Dedicated Servers | High Bandwidth Hosting | 1Gbps-10Gbps Unmetered
    FiberPeer DDoS Mitigation | ethProxy Upgraded! | 14-Years Experience | Emergency 24/7 Support
    Visit us @ www.fiberpeer.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •