Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 49
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574

    eAccelerator auto installer - for cPanel

    I know a promised a new script a while back, so here it is...

    In root SSH:
    Code:
    wget http://tutorials.medialayer.com/cPanel/eaccelerator.sh
    chmod 700 eaccelerator.sh
    ./eaccelerator.sh
    Should work perfectly on any cPanel server. There are lots of sanity checks built in to prevent any possible issue or destruction. The php.ini gets backed up before it is modified.

    HTH
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  2. #2
    wonderful

    But would you use the new version of eaccelerator because I saw you're using the old version (eaccelerator-0.9.4) it would be great from you if you'll update your script to the new version

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/eaccelerator

    also i tried your script but i faced small problem check
    root@host [~/top/eaccelerator-0.9.5-rc1]# wget http://tutorials.medialayer.com/cPanel/eaccelerator.sh
    --13:41:34-- http://tutorials.medialayer.com/cPanel/eaccelerator.sh
    => `eaccelerator.sh'
    Resolving tutorials.medialayer.com... 208.68.171.10
    Connecting to tutorials.medialayer.com[208.68.171.10]:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 2,784 [application/x-sh]

    100%[===========================================================>] 2,784 --.--K/s

    13:41:34 (94.82 MB/s) - `eaccelerator.sh' saved [2,784/2,784]

    root@host [~/top/eaccelerator-0.9.5-rc1]# chmod 700 eaccelerator.sh
    root@host [~/top/eaccelerator-0.9.5-rc1]# ./eaccelerator.sh
    ABORT: One or more of the variables are incorrect. Please review lines 3-6 in the script and adjust appropriately for your server.
    root@host [~/top/eaccelerator-0.9.5-rc1]#
    ( i was install eaccelerator) but i removed it from php.ini

    Any idea?

    BTW Thanks
    Last edited by OpenSource; 09-27-2006 at 01:59 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Hello,

    That error explains that you need to do

    nano -w ~/eaccelerator.sh

    and edit lines 3-6 for the variables. One or more of the directories either do not exist or something to that extent.

    The latest *stable* version of eAccelerator is being used in this script. I may add an option to use the RC version, but I wouldn't want to release an auto installer for non-stable version.

    Thanks,
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  4. #4
    thanks for the autoinstaller.

    But may I ask how do I access control.php ? (I have modified your installer a little so that I can install version 0.9.5
    ozdoc.com
    Taiwan independence!!!
    Go Sydney Swans!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    You'll need to re-download the eA source, extract it with tar jfx ea*.tar.bz2 and then you should find a control.php file in there.

    HTH,

  6. #6
    thanks. But under which directory should I install it under? Obvious I wouldn't be able to open it if it's stored under "root" (like the rest of eaccelerator). At the moment, I have placed control.php under public_htm of my website, but l could not log into it.
    ozdoc.com
    Taiwan independence!!!
    Go Sydney Swans!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by allanh
    thanks. But under which directory should I install it under? Obvious I wouldn't be able to open it if it's stored under "root" (like the rest of eaccelerator). At the moment, I have placed control.php under public_htm of my website, but l could not log into it.
    If on a cpanel server, try /usr/local/apache/htdocs and then you can access it at IP/control.php. You can try /var/www/html if non-cpanel.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    756
    I can't seem to install eAccelerator using this script with Zend Optimizer already installed...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by -OY-
    I can't seem to install eAccelerator using this script with Zend Optimizer already installed...
    What error are you receiving?

    I've sometimes seen issues with the extensions dir not existing try

    mkdir /usr/local/lib/php/extensions and then run the script.
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    756
    There is an eaccelerator.so file in no-debug-non-zts-20020429 of the extension folder.

    But when I go to phpinfo, it doesn't show that eaccelerator was installed.

    Maybe because I have PHP4 and PHP5 installed at the same time?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by -OY-
    There is an eaccelerator.so file in no-debug-non-zts-20020429 of the extension folder.

    But when I go to phpinfo, it doesn't show that eaccelerator was installed.

    Maybe because I have PHP4 and PHP5 installed at the same time?
    Having both PHP4 and 5 shouldn't cause a problem. Is PHP4 running as mod_php? Can you paste me the result of php -v please?
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    756
    PHP 4.4.4 (cli) (built: Oct 21 2006 21:10:43)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2006 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v1.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2004 Zend Technologies
    with Zend Extension Manager v1.0.10, Copyright (c) 2003-2006, by Zend Technologies
    with Zend Optimizer v3.0.1, Copyright (c) 1998-2006, by Zend Technologies

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    grep "eaccelerator" -- /usr/local/lib/php.ini also paste that pelase

    Thanks
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    756
    extension="eaccelerator.so"
    eaccelerator.shm_size="16"
    eaccelerator.cache_dir="/php-cache"
    eaccelerator.enable="1"
    eaccelerator.optimizer="1"
    eaccelerator.check_mtime="1"
    eaccelerator.debug="0"
    eaccelerator.filter=""
    eaccelerator.shm_max="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_ttl="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_prune_period="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_only="0"
    eaccelerator.compress="0"

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    well that looks setup correctly, how about:

    grep "extension_dir" -- /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    756
    Contacted you via PM.


    extension_dir = "/usr/local/Zend/lib"
    ; extension_dir directive above.

    I don't think it's installed. My other servers installed fine and it will show eAccelerator in phpinfo.
    Last edited by -OY-; 11-06-2006 at 12:18 AM.

  17. #17
    eAccelerator
    eAccelerator support enabled
    Version 0.9.5
    Caching Enabled false
    Optimizer Enabled false

    Directive Local Value Master Value
    eaccelerator.allowed_admin_path no value no value
    eaccelerator.cache_dir /php-cache /php-cache
    eaccelerator.check_mtime 1 1
    eaccelerator.compress 0 0
    eaccelerator.compress_level 9 9
    eaccelerator.debug 0 0
    eaccelerator.enable 1 1
    eaccelerator.filter no value no value
    eaccelerator.log_file no value no value
    eaccelerator.name_space no value no value
    eaccelerator.optimizer 1 1
    eaccelerator.shm_max 0 0
    eaccelerator.shm_only 0 0
    eaccelerator.shm_prune_period 0 0
    eaccelerator.shm_size 16 16
    eaccelerator.shm_ttl 0 0

    installed eaccelerator, with autoinstaller, but seems it does not work. spent over 4 days to try and make it work, yet no results.

    centos 4.4 php 4.4.4 suexec enabled.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    eAccelerator does not work with suexec properly, that is your problem...

  19. #19
    disabled suexec and recompiling php now. will keep updated.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by jugithamugi
    disabled suexec and recompiling php now. will keep updated.
    Okay, please let me know how it goes.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    163
    I know it doesn't get said enough but Thank You!
    PrimeHost Inc. - Canadian Web Hosting PrimeHost.ca - Canada's Prime Web Host
    █ Reliable Web Hosting for Business and Personal Websites on Canadian Servers

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    84
    Eaceleratror wont works on PHpsuExec envirovement!! anyone know how to solved this problem? i heard build it with fastcgi would solved it but no resource how to get it works on cPanel server

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Canada, Montreal
    Posts
    64

    *

    should i do it manually, will i have problems doing it ??
    i have PHP5.2 so i get an error when trying to install the script

    PHP Version => 5.2.0
    ABORT: eAccelerator is not 100% compatible (though it will work in most cases - we don't want to take the risk) with PHP 5.x or 5.1.x at this time. Thus, we rec ommend manual installation in this case.
    root@ns1 [~]#


    thanks

    Doc
    _______________
    Dc

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by docfear
    should i do it manually, will i have problems doing it ??
    i have PHP5.2 so i get an error when trying to install the script

    PHP Version => 5.2.0
    ABORT: eAccelerator is not 100% compatible (though it will work in most cases - we don't want to take the risk) with PHP 5.x or 5.1.x at this time. Thus, we rec ommend manual installation in this case.
    root@ns1 [~]#


    thanks

    Doc
    Hello,

    I replied to your PM regarding this, but yes you should not have a problem with doing it manually. Eventually this installer will be updated with the latest version and support for PHP 5.

    Thanks,

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    449
    Wanted to post a big thank you.
    This was hassle free for me and I just changed the 0.9.4 to the released 0.9.5

    (the mkdir was also needed for me)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •