Q for webhosts: what about permissions 0777?

My host just changed their policy regarding 0777 permissions - totally not allowed now. I understand the problem, but this kills the system in place on not just my own site but many client sites. I've been using them for 5 years or so - and until recently they really have been more than a bargain.

I've asked that perhaps they consider recompiling PHP so that we don't need 0777 at all but I just get the same answer over and over...use FTP. Well, FTP is not sufficient.

And so I'm curious how hosts deal with folder permissions of 0777? Are there other ways to use it safely? Are there other realistic options? Are the days of allowing users to upload files/images to the server via a script coming to an end (I sure hope not)? How am I supposed to implement a caching system as well? I'm fishing here.

I think they've given up. I can tell they are losing customers as well so I think they no longer want to put resources into something that is probably losing money (they also have more than one hosting company).

Try using the chmod of 0776 (-rwxrwxrw-). This allows Apache to read and write to the file, but prevents it from executing.

0777 is a security risk. Anybody could execute any file that anybody else put on their website.

The reason why the host can't have PHP run under the user/group of your data is because Apache needs to be setup to run using suexec. Obviously they can't or do not want to implement that.
    Jakiao

If your hosting company has made this decision, then they should have measures in place. If they are going to do this, then they almost have to recompile PHP to run as CGI. Either using phpsuexec, suPHP, or a custom suexec wrapper.