what kind of host for this project?

I am a teacher and I would like to create a site to put the several activities I am involved in: Didactics, publication, archives, etc Therefore I would use the scripts of Fantastico: for ex. Mambo, Joomla, Wordpress, Tikiwiki, Moodle, etc Mambo and Joomla will be used for the main structure, and the other software would be linked to it. The average number of visitors (all registered users) will be around to 150 - 200 (max.). Most users will visit an average of 10 pages per day of the main site. Every user will have their own blog. There will be a forum, chat, mailing list, newsletter, groupwork, etc I will also use other open source software, etc.. I would like to offer audio and video, podcasts, etc (short, obviously) also for download. I would like password protected areas. I would like the site to be expandable at ease (more space, bandwith, etc.).

The users would all be in Italy.(would this slow down the service?)

What features (bandwidth, number and size of databases, disk space, CPU usage, etc. etc.) would the host have to have? Any other tips or guidelines I should follow when choosing the host?

I would really appreciate ANY feedback from you, as this would be my first hosting experience and I would like to start it off in the best of ways.

clapton

Summary of project:
    Mambo/Joomla: approximately 50 - 100 pages (texts, photo, audio, video, podcasts, archives, links, etc)
    Wordpress: approximately 200 blogs
    Moodle: short courses, with multimedial elements
    Tikiwiki: approximately 100 pages
    Mailing list, newsletter: max 200/250 adressees.
    Forum, Chat, etc: max. 200/250 users
    Other open source, always for approximately 200/250 users.

most linux based hosts can offer. You can try hostgator or steadfast. Also have you checked drupal? drupal (one application) includes cms, forum, blogs etc.

Thanks hcn for your reply.