Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    184

    Minimum RAM for cPanel

    Hi,

    I got 384Mb RAM on my VPS
    I don't have the burstable option.

    I often get Out of RAM during cPanels daily update

    Running cat /proc/user_beancounters gave me this:

    Version: 2.5
    uid resource held maxheld barrier limit failcnt
    414: kmemsize 4037384 4042405 11055923 11377049 0
    lockedpages 0 0 256 256 0
    privvmpages 78459 78468 98304 104579 123449
    shmpages 3407 3407 21504 21504 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    numproc 77 77 240 240 0
    physpages 39239 39241 0 2147483647 0
    vmguarpages 0 0 98304 2147483647 0
    oomguarpages 39240 39242 98304 2147483647 0
    numtcpsock 28 28 360 360 0
    numflock 9 9 188 206 0
    numpty 1 1 16 16 0
    numsiginfo 0 0 256 256 0
    tcpsndbuf 4456 6684 1720320 2703360 0
    tcprcvbuf 0 692 1720320 2703360 0
    othersockbuf 37440 37440 1126080 2097152 0
    dgramrcvbuf 0 0 262144 262144 0
    numothersock 32 32 360 360 0
    dcachesize 501244 504114 3409920 3624960 0
    numfile 1916 1917 9312 9312 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    numiptent 85 85 128 128 0

    What is privvmpages ? It has a lot of failed counts.

    Any suggestions on what to optimize?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Coimbra, Portugal
    Posts
    236
    privvmpages
    The size of private (or potentially private) memory allocated by an application. The memory that is always shared among different applications is not included in this resource parameter.

    Ask your host to increase it


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    184
    Is it some parameter setting to increase?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    You can try turning off mailman if you aren't using it. Also Melange can be a pain
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Coimbra, Portugal
    Posts
    236
    You should request it to your VPS provider, there is nothing you can do yourself.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Butler,TN
    Posts
    2,413
    Hi!
    It's a topic that has been getting more attention now...and hopefully hosts will wake up to the fact it will should not be tolerated...and customers will just move on (hopefuly) to other hosts who do not play these allocation games.

    Bryon
    Bryon L Harvey
    Soil Relocation Engineer

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Coimbra, Portugal
    Posts
    236
    It's too bad to be limited in a lot of resources without previous notification.
    Fair CPU
    [If 8Ghz are shared by 100 users i guess 80Mhz isn't so 'fair']

    Hosts didn't say but limit:
    Processes
    Number of connection
    PTY (sessions)
    Number of open files
    Maximum memory usage per application/process
    AND MORE

    I've also limited it on my vps although, if i find any failcnt i will increase it, and i guess it's the right thing to do since it's there are no extra fees for stated for this.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    184
    Quote Originally Posted by sspt
    You should request it to your VPS provider, there is nothing you can do yourself.
    Thanks sspt


    Quote Originally Posted by a2b2
    You can try turning off mailman if you aren't using it. Also Melange can be a pain
    How do I turn of mailman? What is it actually used for?

    I think I have Melange disabled in WHM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Butler,TN
    Posts
    2,413
    Hi!
    I'm not sure...but check services and exim/mail setup. Mailman is a mailing list manager.

    Do this at the command line:

    ps axfuw

    This may help you in finding what is the biggest memory hog...and..perhaps...something else to shutdown or optimize.

    Bryon
    Bryon L Harvey
    Soil Relocation Engineer

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    184
    One thing I know for sure is that privvmpages can't be upgraded without upgrading the RAM.

    Also, my host is going to go optimize secure my VPS so will have to monitor after that...

    Have disabled mailman in tweak settings... let's see
    Last edited by Webberzone; 09-22-2006 at 10:32 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Butler,TN
    Posts
    2,413
    Hi!
    Where did that come from? Privvmpages can be upgraded by the host at any time..I know..I've done it! it's just a setting...not physical RAM at all.

    A host can either 1) Agree to upgrade the allotment <or>
    2) Not agree to upgrade the allotment

    Give them a little push..tell them how to do it! <giggle>

    1) Login as root
    2) type: vzctl set 414 --privvmpages 170000:180000 --save

    Oh! One more thing...don't let 'em offo n the good ole "If I gave you more...I'd afta give everybody more" lie. Nope. Not true. LieS!


    Bryon
    Last edited by bryonhost1; 09-22-2006 at 10:53 AM.
    Bryon L Harvey
    Soil Relocation Engineer

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Coimbra, Portugal
    Posts
    236
    For people who want to know more about those obscure settings:
    http://download.openvz.org/doc/OpenVZ-Users-Guide.pdf


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Butler,TN
    Posts
    2,413
    Hi!
    Heh! Well...I didn't think going *there* was really necessary..but...correct..for those who really want to learn...and become a part of The Hosting Vortex(TM) of which there is no escape!!!!!

    I've said too much here. I will be punished shortly. I have been bad..bad..bad.

    >>For those who want to learn what's not in the manual...and important..take a look here:

    http://forum.openvz.org/index.php?t=...5807&#msg_5807

    Bryon
    Last edited by bryonhost1; 09-22-2006 at 11:41 AM.
    Bryon L Harvey
    Soil Relocation Engineer

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3,077
    Try changing your my.cnf to the minimal settings and limit the number of connections to apache. Also disable any services you wont use like entropychat, melange, interchange server etc.

    cPanel should run fine on a VPS with 256MB Ram and can even run with 128MB if it has been properly tweaked.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    184
    Quote Originally Posted by bryonhost1
    Hi!
    Where did that come from? Privvmpages can be upgraded by the host at any time..I know..I've done it! it's just a setting...not physical RAM at all.

    A host can either 1) Agree to upgrade the allotment <or>
    2) Not agree to upgrade the allotment

    Give them a little push..tell them how to do it! <giggle>

    1) Login as root
    2) type: vzctl set 414 --privvmpages 170000:180000 --save

    Oh! One more thing...don't let 'em offo n the good ole "If I gave you more...I'd afta give everybody more" lie. Nope. Not true. LieS!


    Bryon
    Actually I didn't need to push them.

    Got a reply to my ticket an hour later saying that the limit was increased for me, and they had got a little confused of it not being able to.

    No complains on that point. I see my failcnt still hasn't changed since then, so that is a good thing.

    Also got mysql and apache tweaked. No problems so far.

    Still major tweaking in store

    BTW, I can't run that command vzctl, right?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Butler,TN
    Posts
    2,413
    Hi!
    No..hosts only. Ohhh.that would be a very bad thing if users could access that command. It is the most used command..period. It can do almost anything...related to VPS. What's really cool is the exec command.

    let's say I'm logged in as root (to the main server-not a vps) and I want to execute a command as if I were logged in to one of the VPS's..without having to login directly to the VPS.

    vzctl exec <vps#> <command>

    and it executes it in the vps context...not in the present context at all.

    It really is quite cool.

    Bryon
    Bryon L Harvey
    Soil Relocation Engineer

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    184
    Quote Originally Posted by bryonhost1
    Hi!
    No..hosts only. Ohhh.that would be a very bad thing if users could access that command. It is the most used command..period. It can do almost anything...related to VPS. What's really cool is the exec command.

    let's say I'm logged in as root (to the main server-not a vps) and I want to execute a command as if I were logged in to one of the VPS's..without having to login directly to the VPS.

    vzctl exec <vps#> <command>

    and it executes it in the vps context...not in the present context at all.

    It really is quite cool.

    Bryon
    Interesting... so you don't even need to login to the VPS!

    Well, it is of no use to me, atleast not yet.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Butler,TN
    Posts
    2,413
    And there's more!

    Now...the openvz site has two types of os options...templates..which can be updated from the central context..and precreated os;s..which cannot be updated and are not recommended for production use. However...what they don't tell you...these precreated ones can be updated *from within* the vps itself...and used in production like that. I don't like gentoo and opensuse..too different...not like any of the others at all. I spent some time with each..and decided it wasn't worth it.

    Another interesting thing about these vps's...a smart host updates a "master" copy..tarballs it..and then just untars and renanes the directory as needed.
    There is only one other file that needs to be modified...and that's the conf file..all scriptable...and easily repeatable.

    Oh..I install apt on fed and centos..it really makes life so much easier.
    The only thing is it doesn't recommend other additional installs like debian does..quite nifty.

    It's really quite a amazing system...and..again...sw-soft..me hats off to ye!

    Bryon
    Bryon L Harvey
    Soil Relocation Engineer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •