Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    1,748

    Question PHP Script needed..

    Does any one know where I can find some thing like this http://techiestalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1493 or if any one can make it.. Having a hard time finding some thing like this on hotscripts.. Happy to pay for some thing custom if its needed..

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,414
    Post the content, not going to register on that board just to answer you here.
    dotGig
    <:<: [Fruit eating linux administrator]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,962
    PHP Script needed.
    Here is what we are looking for..

    We need a simple page like http://burst.net/ or http://apc.com/template/country_selection.cfm like they list country but we need to list servers.. We have 6 servers setup around the word and 4 in the US.

    What we need is when some one comes to our site ether in a drop down or link they can pick the one closest to them.

    We have them setup like so
    south.vortechhosting.com
    west.vortechhosting.com
    central.vortechhosting.com
    north.vortechhosting.com

    We could do this like burst with simple links but we would like it to remember what this your picked so it send them back to the same server if they come back at a latter date with in 1 year.

    The next thing that needs to be add to the system is it does an http call every 10min to make sure each server is up, if a server is down it then removes it from the list.

    Now if a user had come to the site 4 days before and north.vortechhosting.com was up but now its down a cookie need to send them to anther server.


    We would also need a admin area so we can simple add other server or a simple config would be fine. But i am guessing this is going to need a mysql DB as well to keep track of what servers are up.. Not sure how that part would work..

    If any one can do this Post or PM a price to make this.. I would like to get this done ASAP.. Thanks


    If you don't get anyone to do the script, PM me, I might have some time to do this....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,962
    I was thinking, has Vortech tried a DNS round robin?? Might be a real easy way to set it up... Much like IRC networks are balanced...

    Also, my above offer is if no one else takes the deal, this would be an easy project to add to your portfolio....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    1,748

    The Prohacker

    Thanks for coping that over.. I did not know the forum would not let you see it with out being registered..

    Well DNS round robin works and UltraDNS has an option to do this for us in there DNS I would like the user to be able to pick what server to go to.

    For one Ultra charges about $600 per month to do the same thing at the DNS level..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,962

    Re: The Prohacker

    Originally posted by Vortech
    For one Ultra charges about $600 per month to do the same thing at the DNS level..

    600??????? Crap... They better be doing something real special for that much, all I'm talking about doing is a simple dns round robin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •