Help me choose a content management system

I am very new to the CMS world....I understand what they are, but haven't tried any of them.

I want to start a website that would be primarily a photo gallery site, and with a forum as a secondary purpose. So a CMS that integrates these 2 features is key.

Also, I would prefer to have one that is pretty popular, so I know that it isn't going to just disappear overnight. There are so many to choose from, and I have no idea which ones are the "big players" and which ones are fly-by-nights.

Other nice features would be a clean design and statistics, but this isn't mandatory.

Thanks in advance.

There are many threads like this...

Popular are Joomla or Mambo, Xoops, e107, Drupal, TextPattern, Xaraya, Etomite, WebsiteBaker, Typo3, ExponentCMS, PHP-Fusion, etc., to name a few.

Useful sites to help you compare CMSs and choose the right one are or

You have also a few gallery-scripts, such as Gallery Menalto, Coppermine, etc. but also as component or plug-in integrated with the most CMSs.

Good luck in finding the right one.
    Life is too short for 56k!

Oklahoma City, OK
    I would try out great cms we use on one of our sites. Does take a little to get it the way you want but after that it works flawlessly.

i would go on joomla,
    very flexible
    Motti Horesh
    affordable and reliable web hosting and web design

For a simple clean website you could try Wordpress, I know primarily it is for blogging but can be customised into a website pretty simply.

Otherwise I have heard great things about Joomla (the new improved Mambo).

ExpressionEngine is very nice. The core version is free, however if you want stuff like photo gallery and forum they are extra.

A really nice system I have been playing with is
    It's remotely hosted and not free but its so easy to get great results - has blogs, forums, galleries, you name it

East Texas