Firewall Questions

I posted a question about server specs a couple of minutes ago. Now I've got another on firewalls. Currently, we're hosting our domains on a Verio shared server. So, I have no experience with firewalls. (Btw, I don't know what kind of security they have, but we've never had a problem.)

I'm hosting about 70 accounts now - going up to about 110 by year's end. Will I need a firewall on the dedicated server?

I plan on using Plesk. Currently they don't support firewalls (I think). So, I'm assuming a software solution is out of the question. Is that right? If not, how difficult is it to maintain the firewall?

Rackspace is offering a variety of managed firewalls. They all cost about $300+/month. Is that reasonable?

If I need one and the price is reasonable, what's the difference between the different firewalls? In particular, info on NetScreen 5 Elite and Cisco Pix 506 would be appreciated. And, if there are others that are better I'd like to hear about them as well.

Thanks in advance,
    Steve

Most likely you will not need a firewall on your server. A firewall can sometimes be useful, but in a shared hosting environment, it is the last thing you should be worried about.

The following are more important steps to securing a web server:

1. Disable Unused Ports -- your webserver should only accept connections on ports 80, 443, and 22. If you are going to have it double as a mail server add in 25 and 110, if you are going to have it serve as a DNS server as well add 53. You will also have to allow connections on 20/21 since most people still use FTP .

2. Subscribe to bugtraq, or some other security database so you can find out vulnerabilities as soon as they are reported....then update your software!

3. Run some sort of log checking software, that is going to monitor your logs for suspicious activity.

4. Run a HIDS, to watch for unauthorized connections.

5. Restrict file permissions as much as possible, and give out SSH access very sparingly.