Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    it seems on line ;)
    Posts
    927

    CPU time meassurement tool?

    Is there a tool to measure CPU usage for one account that webmasters could use for each of their accounts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    East Coast // NYC
    Posts
    1,693
    Unless you're on a Windows server there really isn't a way to measure your CPU usage by account/site -- since it all runs under 1 process. You can only measure the total CPU used.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    it seems on line ;)
    Posts
    927
    Thank you! Or, would it be possible to measure the CPU usage (or have an idea) for one script on a unix/linux platform? Maybe a site offering that service .... ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    East Coast // NYC
    Posts
    1,693
    Quote Originally Posted by drgdiaz
    Thank you! Or, would it be possible to measure the CPU usage (or have an idea) for one script on a unix/linux platform? Maybe a site offering that service .... ?
    You can't measure the % CPU used, but you can check to see how much CPU time you use.

    A link I found from google-ing
    http://pomocnik.com/users/dan/2006/0...usage-warning/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,640
    Quote Originally Posted by MrRadic
    Unless you're on a Windows server there really isn't a way to measure your CPU usage by account/site -- since it all runs under 1 process. You can only measure the total CPU used.
    That's not *exactly* true - there is a roundabout way of doing it if the host is running PHP SuExec (where PHP scripts are run as the user, not as the apache/httpd user) and some clever scripting. It might not be the cleanest solution, but it's workable for estimate figures (it's not going to be 100% accurate, but it's a start).

    Quote Originally Posted by MrRadic
    You can't measure the % CPU used, but you can check to see how much CPU time you use.

    A link I found from google-ing
    http://pomocnik.com/users/dan/2006/0...usage-warning/
    You are correct - but, then you can turn the CPU time number into a percentage via the total number of seconds in the time period that you want to measure (i.e. 1 month, etc.).
    Hope this helps....
    Simpli Networks, LLC :: http://www.simplinetworks.com :: Proudly 100% Owned.
    Providing Affordable Managed Cloud/VPS Servers & Server Management Solutions.
    We offer REAL 24x7x365 in-house support - proudly serving our customers since 2005!
    Want to learn more? Give us a call - +1 (844) 4SIMPLI or email sales[@]simplinetworks.com today!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    it seems on line ;)
    Posts
    927
    Thank you! Sure it helps but I would preffer a perl script or similar. Bad hosts hide their huge overselling behind the known worlds "...your site is exceeding the allowed CPU ussage ....."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    East Coast // NYC
    Posts
    1,693
    Quote Originally Posted by drgdiaz
    Thank you! Sure it helps but I would preffer a perl script or similar. Bad hosts hide their huge overselling behind the known worlds "...your site is exceeding the allowed CPU ussage ....."
    Thats why you don't go with a huge overseller and you don't have to worry about your CPU

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    it seems on line ;)
    Posts
    927
    Right!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Northern Europe.
    Posts
    2,571
    DreamHost does offer such a tool (measures CPU-minutes I think), but it is a part of their custom-built control panel. Anyways it proves it can be done....

    Web Hosting Reviews based on real customer feedback
    77 Ways To More Traffic

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •