Question Business License?

Hey I was just wondering how many of you who are running a web dev. or a hosting business actually have a business license?

Or should I rephrase it to keep people out of getting in many of you running a web dev. or hosting business think it is important to have a business license?

I'm just getting started with mine and I am slowly going through all the processes. While talking to some online business people, many have recommended that I just forgo all the legal stuff, but that makes me a bit uneasy. -- coming soon to an internet near you...

Oklahoma Sooners all the way baby!!

If you are serious about your business and if you don't want go get into trouble get a license.

Sydney, Australia
    I recommend getting the appropriate licences and doing everything legally, it saves for headaches in the future.

It can cost a bit to do (well, at least here in Australia) and requires a bit of running around but once it is done then you don't need to worry about it.

We also have separate bank accounts, etc. which makes it better for tax purposes, etc.

San Antonio, Texas
    Varies from state to state too, as far as any requirements.
    Check with your county courthouse, and your bank (for business checking, etc) they will let you know whats needed. - Quality Web Hosting - Under A Gig! - Since 1999

I agree with Martie,

I live in a state where there is no such thing as a business license.

You might also want to check with your accountant.

Umbra Hosting
    cPanel | Softaculous | CloudLinux | R1Soft | Ksplice
    Web Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers, Colocation

Boston Metro
    Web hosting is a rare service business that does not have any sort of licensing procedure. You don't need to be board certified or pass a licensing exam.

Beauticians, mechanics, accountants, lawyers, all require something to prove they are qualfied.

Computer consultants, network administrators, ISP's and web hosts, don't.