Results 1 to 34 of 34
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    508

    SuperMicro PDSMI+ motherboard in 14" to 16" 1u case

    Hi,

    Anyone make some suggestions on 14" to 16" 1u case for this motherboard.

    I intend to put a Core 2 Duo E6400 in it.

    Would prefer a case that takes 2x 3.5" internal hard drives. Don't need cd-rom (I use USB or PXE for install).

    SuperMicro makes a http://www.supermicro.com/products/c...SC512F-280.cfm 14.5" case that says it takes 2x 3.5" drives and has a decent power supply. However, they say for Xeon 5000's... Any reason I couldn't put the PDSMI+ motherboard in that case?

    Open to any brand case solution.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    Quote Originally Posted by StephenRS
    Hi,

    Anyone make some suggestions on 14" to 16" 1u case for this motherboard.

    I intend to put a Core 2 Duo E6400 in it.

    Would prefer a case that takes 2x 3.5" internal hard drives. Don't need cd-rom (I use USB or PXE for install).

    SuperMicro makes a http://www.supermicro.com/products/c...SC512F-280.cfm 14.5" case that says it takes 2x 3.5" drives and has a decent power supply. However, they say for Xeon 5000's... Any reason I couldn't put the PDSMI+ motherboard in that case?

    Open to any brand case solution.

    Thank you.
    Should fit just fine, that is the newer chassis very similar ot the SC512L-260 which we are very fond of and have dozens of them in use.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    508
    Anyone have a recommendation on a reseller to purchase this motherboard from?


  4. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    SC512L-260B can be had for ~$95 these days

    Only downside is the classic 4 pin power connectors for drives. Works fine if you are using WD Sata disks but the pin placement on sata power connectors are a real pain when it comes to using Seagate drives and the blower in the center of the chassis

  5. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    508
    Quote Originally Posted by WireSix
    SC512L-260B can be had for ~$95 these days

    Only downside is the classic 4 pin power connectors for drives. Works fine if you are using WD Sata disks but the pin placement on sata power connectors are a real pain when it comes to using Seagate drives and the blower in the center of the chassis
    Best I found was $110 - are you buying wholesale or retail?

    What are you using for heatsinks on a Core 2 Duo?

  6. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627

  7. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    Quote Originally Posted by StephenRS
    Best I found was $110 - are you buying wholesale or retail?

    What are you using for heatsinks on a Core 2 Duo?
    Amazon had it for $106, free shipping to continental US.
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  8. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    508
    Thanks for the price leads on the cases. On the motherboard, the best I can find is eWiz.com at $239.99 for Bulk packaged - I've never dealt with them but all the regulars (MWave, newegg, provantage) don't seem to have the PDSMI+ yet

  9. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    508
    ok, we have the SC512L-260B with this board... but the board manual is pretty speicifc that a 8-pin power supply is required. Any comments on this?

  10. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    Quote Originally Posted by StephenRS
    ok, we have the SC512L-260B with this board... but the board manual is pretty speicifc that a 8-pin power supply is required. Any comments on this?
    should be fine with only the 4.

  11. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    I just tested PDSMI+. Yes, you need to have the 8 pin power socket needs to be connected. The 4 pin power supply does work on the 8 pin socket.
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  12. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    466
    Quote Originally Posted by WireSix
    SC512L-260B can be had for ~$95 these days
    Hmm... great price.
    Would the SuperMicro H8SSL-i work with this case?

    http://www.supermicro.com/Aplus/moth...00/H8SSL-i.cfm
    Larry Ludwig
    Empowering Media
    HostCube - Proactively Managed Xen based VPSes
    Empowering Media - The Dev Null Blog


  13. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    508

    Heatsinks

    Quote Originally Posted by FHDave
    I just tested PDSMI+. Yes, you need to have the 8 pin power socket needs to be connected. The 4 pin power supply does work on the 8 pin socket.

    Ok, great information.

    We have already had one heatsink not fit the PDSMI+ as the capacitors are in the way. This was the Supermicro "Supermicro SNK-P0011 1U Passive Heatsink for 1U Socket 775" that we had around.

    So I'm assuming we need to order the " Supermicro SNK-P0016 1U Passive Heatsink for Intel Pentium Socket 775 (Dual-Core Support)"

    I can't seem to find anyone reputable with the SNK-P0016 in stock at a decent price... anyone have leads?

    Thank you for all the help!

  14. we have no issue to fit Cooljag OAK-8 or Dynatron P13 passive heatsink on PDSMI+ board.

    the cost of copper heatsink is going thru the roof currently! can't really blame them because the material cost of copper has gone up a few folds in last 12 month! I would consider it a fair price if you can buy one under $30.
    Last edited by [email protected]; 09-22-2006 at 02:45 PM.

  15. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    508
    Has anyone been able to get Linux cpu temperature monitoring working on this motherboard?

    //On the bleeding edge

  16. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    183
    StephenRS;

    SNK-P0016 has indents on two sides of the underside so it fits PDSMI. I haven't tried a PSDMI+

    I tried configuring lm_sensors but gave up pretty quickly. I've never really got far with lm_sensors so someone with experience may do better. Instead, I wrote a nagios plugin to check the temperatures and fans by IPMI. In case it's useful, here it is. Excuse the fact it's in PHP - I wrote it for speed and wasn't intending to publish it

    Code:
    #!/usr/bin/php -q
    <?
    /*
     * check_ipmi for checking Supermicro IPMI on remote machine
     * Gary Stimson 28aug2006
     */
    
    $sIpmiTool = '/usr/bin/ipmitool';
    
    if ($argc!=4)
    {
            print "Usage: ".$argv[0]." user password host\n";
            exit(3);
    }
    
    $sUser = $argv[1];
    $sPass = $argv[2];
    $sHost = $argv[3];
    
    $rExec = 0;
    $aChassisLines= array();
    $sCmd = "$sIpmiTool -U $sUser -P $sPass -H $sHost chassis status";
    $s = exec($sCmd, &$aChassisLines, &$rExec);
    if ($rExec)
    {
            print "Warning: Error running ipmitool command: $sCmd:" . implode("\n",$aChassisLines) . "\n";
            exit(1);
    }
    
    $aChassisStatus=array();
    foreach($aChassisLines as $sLine)
    {
            $aMatch = array();
            if (preg_match('/(.*): (.*)/', $sLine, $aMatch))
            {
                    $aChassisStatus[trim($aMatch[1])] = $aMatch[2];
            }
    }
    if (count($aChassisStatus) < 8)
    {
            print "CRITICAL: Could not parse output from chassis list.";
            exit(2);
    }
    
    
    if ($aChassisStatus['System Power'] != 'on')
    {
            print "OK: Switched off";
            exit(0);
    }
    
    $iR = 0;
    $asR = array();
    
    $aChassisChecks = array('Power Overload', 'Main Power Fault', 'Power Control Fault', 'Drive Fault', 'Cooling/Fan Fault');
    foreach ($aChassisChecks as $sCheck)
    {
            if ($aChassisStatus[$sCheck] != 'false')
            {
                    $iR = 2;
                    $asR[] = $sCheck;
            }
    }
    
    
    $rExec = 0;
    $aSDRLines = array();
    $sCmd = "$sIpmiTool -U $sUser -P $sPass -H $sHost sdr list";
    $s = exec($sCmd, &$aSDRLines, &$rExec);
    if ($rExec)
    {
            print "Warning: Error running ipmitool command: $sCmd:" . implode("\n",$aSDRLines) . "\n";
            exit(1);
    }
    
    if (count($aSDRLines) < 10)
    {
            $iR = 2;
            $sR = "Could not get sdr list. Machine uncontactable or other fault.";
    }
    
    $bParseErrorDone = false;
    foreach($aSDRLines as $sLine)
    {
            $aFields = explode('|',$sLine);
            if (count($aFields) < 3)
            {
                    continue;
            }
    
            $sCaption = trim($aFields[0]);
            $sDetail = trim($aFields[1]);
            $sStatus = trim($aFields[2]);
    
            // Power supply always seems to have 'cr' status so omit it from this check
            // It is checked by the chassis check anyway
            // Ignore Intrusion as well.
            if ($sCaption != 'Power Supply' && $sCaption != 'Intrusion' && $sStatus != 'ok')
            {
                    $iR = 2;
                    $asR[] = "$sCaption status '$sStatus': $sDetail";
            }
    }
    
    $sR = implode('; ', $asR);
    switch($iR)
    {
            case 0:
                    print "OK\n";
                    exit(0);
            case 1:
                    print "Warning: $sR\n";
                    exit(1);
            case 2:
                    print "CRITICAL: $sR\n";
                    exit(2);
    }
    
    ?>
    gary

  17. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    183
    For a 2U case, the Dynatron P6AG and P66G fans fit too.

  18. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by WireSix
    SC512L-260B can be had for ~$95 these days
    I get mine from Buy.com $100 with free shipping, cant really beat that price anywhere. They are the best 14" case i have found, and if done right you can popluate the crap out of your cabinets with these. I have found you can run 2 servers in 1u space (back to back) if you run fan up the middle of the rack to exhaust the servers.
    ProRack.com
    AmericanDataCenter.com
    NY2 Equinix Secaucus NJ

  19. Quote Originally Posted by ProRack
    I get mine from Buy.com $100 with free shipping, cant really beat that price anywhere. They are the best 14" case i have found, and if done right you can popluate the crap out of your cabinets with these. I have found you can run 2 servers in 1u space (back to back) if you run fan up the middle of the rack to exhaust the servers.
    that's why we sometimes refer SC512L as "1/2 U"

    image a soon-to-be-released core2 quadro (kentsfield 4-core) w/massive 8M L2 in one of these mini 1U!

  20. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    466
    Quote Originally Posted by ProRack
    I get mine from Buy.com $100 with free shipping, cant really beat that price anywhere. They are the best 14" case i have found, and if done right you can popluate the crap out of your cabinets with these. I have found you can run 2 servers in 1u space (back to back) if you run fan up the middle of the rack to exhaust the servers.
    What's the URL from buy.com?

    I only found:

    http://www.buy.com/prod/Supermicro_S.../10341556.html

    which isn't the same model
    Larry Ludwig
    Empowering Media
    HostCube - Proactively Managed Xen based VPSes
    Empowering Media - The Dev Null Blog

  21. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    508
    Does IPMI require the extra hardware card? We are using the latest Gentoo Linux 2006.1 and it doesn't seem to find the hardware for this with openIPMI kernel drivers. We are still researching it, but if someone already knows this please post.


  22. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    508
    Ok, we have both systems running with the IPMI card. One system seems to overheat (cpu goes beyond 60 at load)... whereas the other is fine. We have traded heatsinks, traded cpus, no luck.

    Are you running the DPSMI+ with 4gb + 2 sata drives + E6300 at full cpu tilt (mprime is what we are using for cpu stress)... what temps you getting? Are your cpu temps consistant from system to system?

    We are running the cases with just the single blower... I think there isn't enough airflow.

  23. we have installed few dozens of fully loaded configurations (4x 1G DDR2/ 2x SATA /3ware 8006-2LP /IPMI /E6600 chip) in SC512L-260B with good results. idling CPU temp does vary from 35c to 45c. expect to add 10c ~ 15c with full load.

    1. make sure the passive heatsink is mounted evenly
    2. the blower is not really directly aligned with heatsink. add an airflow quide strip (just a simple plastic strip cut to proper height to fit 1U) can reduce CPU temp by 5c

    as long as you can keep CPU temp around 60c under full load, then you should be fine.

  24. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    Quote Originally Posted by garrence
    For a 2U case, the Dynatron P6AG and P66G fans fit too.
    For a 2U case, just buy the CPU Retail. It comes with heatsink+fan, and it's a great fit. I am installing PDSMI+ and Conroe on our 2U cases and they work great.
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  25. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    112
    I found that adding a heatsink with a fan to the cpu helped drop the temp dramatically, the blower that comes with the case just doesnt cut it under load
    ProRack.com
    AmericanDataCenter.com
    NY2 Equinix Secaucus NJ

  26. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    508
    Quote Originally Posted by ProRack
    I found that adding a heatsink with a fan to the cpu helped drop the temp dramatically, the blower that comes with the case just doesnt cut it under load
    Any specific brand/model of heatsink you can recommend for the PDSMI+ as those capacitors sure make it hit or mis on what has fit for us so far.

  27. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by StephenRS
    Any specific brand/model of heatsink you can recommend for the PDSMI+ as those capacitors sure make it hit or mis on what has fit for us so far.
    Have you tried the SM recommended SNK-P0016? It's grooved specifically for the capacitors.

    http://www.supermicro.com/manuals/ma...rmalMatrix.pdf

    - Mike
    Handy Networks, LLC - http://www.handynetworks.com
    Since 1997

  28. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    925
    What FSB do the Conroe chipset run on the PDSMI+?

    Just want to make sure the FSB actually runs at 1066 before switching to the PDSMI+ over our standard Pent. D PDSMI format.

    We save you time, money, and frustration by handling the server management tasks required to run an online business successfully.
    No prodding required. We just do it right the first time. Red Hat, MySQL, Plesk, and cPanel certified staff.


  29. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    Besides PDSMI+, any good motherboard that will run Conroe 2? Preferably one with hardware RAID controller on the board or at least RAID controller that will work under CentOS? Or am I pushing my luck too far?
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  30. Quote Originally Posted by FHDave
    Besides PDSMI+, any good motherboard that will run Conroe 2? Preferably one with hardware RAID controller on the board or at least RAID controller that will work under CentOS? Or am I pushing my luck too far?
    there are no server boards come with hardware XOR engine on board except some proprietary boards in Dell/HP servers...

    the best on-board "hostRAID" can do is running it from Windows OS. for CentOS or any other linux flavors for that matter, you can only use all SATA drives to configure a Linux OS software array, providing that kernel driver is availabe for on-board SATA host controller. any RAID configured by on-board HostRAID BIOS is ignored by linux.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •