Question Dedicated server capacity

Hello all,

I'm new in dedicated server.I've readed few ads here just curious how good is a server with this kind of specs:

Let's say

AMD Athlon,Sempron or Celeron
    (Which one is better actually? I know that celeron is not that good)

512 Mb DDR ram
    (Is this enough? What's the minimum ram recommended?)

120Gb 7200rpm hdd
    (What's the best choice? SATA or SCSI ? I really don't know about this ...)

and

100Mbps port
    (Is this fast enough? I've no idea. .)

Let's say i wanted to offer web hosting service
    Will it be able to host:

240 web sites (500mb space with 5Gb bandwith)
    120 web sites (1Gb space with 10Gb bandwith)
    80 web sites (1.5Gb space with 15Gb bandwith)

Should i allow video files or mp3s ? Can i put this numbers of web sites in a server?

Thank you.

Athlon is the best. 512meg is definately not enough. I would go with 2gb min. As for the hard drive, I know alot of people would go with the SCSI's because of speed, however, I've had more of those crash to the point of being totally unrecoverable than any other drive type. So personally I would go with the SATA. The speed difference isn't much, if any. 100mb port is pretty standard, your not going to get much faster.

240 web sites (500mb space with 5Gb bandwith)
    120 web sites (1Gb space with 10Gb bandwith)
    80 web sites (1.5Gb space with 15Gb bandwith)

This is a harder question. In theory, you should be fine. But I've had servers I could host several hundred customers on and have really low loads. On the other hand, i've had other situations where one or two sites brought in so much traffic or used so much cpu they needed to go dedicated themseves. Overall, I think you'll be good.
    http://www.compunetcentral.com
    CompuNet Communications, Inc. - Reliable, Professional Web Hosting Solutions.
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover & PayPal accepted!
    Web Hosting, Resellers and Dedicated Servers with 24/7 Support