Security tutorials from newbie to pro

Hi guys

I'm looking for tutorials about security on Linux CentOS servers.
    I'm a total newbie and I would like to find tutorials that start from the very basics and that gradually get more and more advanced.

Thanks for the help !

Goleta, CA
    5,550 has some tutorials. They might be a little out of date though. If you are doing this in a production environment get some management services to secure your box.
    Patron: I'd like my free lunch please.
    Cafe Manager: Free lunch? Did you read the fine print stating it was an April Fool's joke.
    Patron: I read the same way I listen, I ignore the parts I don't agree with. I'm suing you for false advertising.
    Cafe Owner: Is our lawyer still working pro bono?

Thanks pixelized,

I don't know what you mean exactly by "production environment", but in my case, as I'm developping websites that I hope will gain some popularity in the future, I would like to make sure that those projects are secure enough. Frankly speaking, until now, I think that the security on my VPS is quite minimalistic. And I would like to change that without high cost.

sleidia, if your site's security is breached and it's live (production), then you would need to add security using a management service, especially when coming from newbie status. There's a lot to learn about security; this forum is helpful but is also useful. You can always google for specific error messages or concerns and there's likely a script or tool/command that can help you resolve the problems.

But what do you mean by "until now?" If you get a fully managed VPS (or fully managed dedicated server), you do have a little more of a cushion in terms of security breaches but you still are the ultimate responsible party in security of your server and sites. That said, I hope you opt for offsite backups as well.

Off the top of my head for a newbie...

The general idea is.