Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Dedicated server ports or customer switch in colocation?

    I was wondering what customary practice is for colocation when it comes to customer supplied switches or dedicated switch ports? If I am a colo customer and renting 2-3 u, am I expected to bring in a small switch/hub to interconnect all of these devices or does the ISP usually give me a dedicated switch port from their side for each of my servers and then vlan them together?

    Sorry for my ignorance but trying to learn more about this business.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    112
    for 2-3u the provider should give them to you, we give drops either from the rack switches or straight to our 6500's. It really depends on the colo provider, but most should give you ethernet handoffs from their switches.
    ProRack.com
    AmericanDataCenter.com
    NY2 Equinix Secaucus NJ

  3. #3
    What is generally the cutoff that you request a customer bring in their own switch? I have to assume that at some point it becomes cost-inefficient to supply ports for colo customers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    112
    1/4 rack(10u) is usually where we ask a customer to bring in their own switch (or pay us a monthly fee for use of ours) . We install cisco 48 port switches in each rack connected back to our 6500's so there is usally enough switch ports for the entire rack. I cant speak for all colo's, im not sure they all do this
    ProRack.com
    AmericanDataCenter.com
    NY2 Equinix Secaucus NJ

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    428
    Not sure for others but for my colo clients once they reach 1 full rack utilization they either need to lease or buy a switch/6509 blade from us or supply their own.
    Edge 1, LLC
    http://www.edge1.net | 800.392.2349
    Cisco SMARTnet & Licensing Specialists | Datacenter/Network Design & Management Consulting | Cisco New & Certified Refurb Equipment Sales

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    977
    Quote Originally Posted by sct4a
    Not sure for others but for my colo clients once they reach 1 full rack utilization they either need to lease or buy a switch/6509 blade from us or supply their own.
    You'd give a customer their own slot in a 6509? That's astounding; I wouldn't.

    Now selling BigVPS's!
    Jacksonville Colocation and dedicated servers by colo4jax
    We are *not* a reseller. We own our servers, switches, routers and racks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    428
    Quote Originally Posted by tical
    You'd give a customer their own slot in a 6509? That's astounding; I wouldn't.
    When they have a full cabinet and are pushing enough bandwidth to take advantage of it absolutly. In some cases i'll even multihome them to two 6509's for high availabilty.
    Edge 1, LLC
    http://www.edge1.net | 800.392.2349
    Cisco SMARTnet & Licensing Specialists | Datacenter/Network Design & Management Consulting | Cisco New & Certified Refurb Equipment Sales

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    3,301
    Generally speaking, per U colocation includes markup that includes a customer port per U. If they want to keep paying higher rates per U and using our ports, more power to 'em.
    Jay Sudowski // Handy Networks LLC // Co-Founder & CTO
    AS30475 - Level(3), HE, Telia, XO and Cogent. Noction optimized network.
    Offering Dedicated Server and Colocation Hosting from our SSAE 16 SOC 2, Type 2 Certified Data Center.
    Current specials here. Check them out.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by tical
    You'd give a customer their own slot in a 6509? That's astounding; I wouldn't.
    In rare cases we would, but most of the time we just give them a fiber port off our 6500 to connect their own switch to
    ProRack.com
    AmericanDataCenter.com
    NY2 Equinix Secaucus NJ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •