Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Named failed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    133

    Named failed

    I run the software update from WHM and after restart the Httpd, there is error accour show named failed and none of the website son the server work. Could any1 please help me how to fix it or how to go back to original ?

    thanks
    It's just the same like last time!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    Is this a Centos 3.x server?
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,294
    If this is a centos3/rhel3 machine do this:

    up2date -f bind-libs

    or

    yum install bind-libs

    depending on which one and

    /scripts/restartsrv_named
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Kerala, India
    Posts
    4,750
    Quote Originally Posted by vietkool
    and after restart the Httpd, there is error accour show named failed
    Is it Http or named that has failed? Did you check the logs? the named will be logging to /var/log/messages

  5. #5
    Please check if you have the same version of bind packages:
    You should see something like this:

    [email protected] [~]# rpm -qa | grep bind
    bind-utils-9.2.4-14_EL3
    bind-devel-9.2.4-14_EL3
    bind-libs-9.2.4-14_EL3
    bind-9.2.4-14_EL3

    If one of the packages has a different version from the others, update and restart.
    Fixed a similar error for me too.
    Good luck.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    133
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven
    If this is a centos3/rhel3 machine do this:

    up2date -f bind-libs

    or

    yum install bind-libs

    depending on which one and

    /scripts/restartsrv_named
    here is msg I got when try your advice

    [email protected] [~]# up2date -f bind-libs
    Your GPG keyring does not contain the Red Hat, Inc. public key.
    Without it, you will be unable to verify that packages Update Agent downloads
    are securely signed by Red Hat.

    Your Update Agent options specify that you want to use GPG.

    To install the key, run the following as root:
    rpm --import /usr/share/rhn/RPM-GPG-KEY


    [email protected] [~]# yum install bind-libs
    Gathering header information file(s) from server(s)
    Server: CentOS-3 - Addons
    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://mirror.centos.org/centos/3/ad...rs/header.info
    Executing failover method
    failover: out of servers to try
    Error getting file http://mirror.centos.org/centos/3/ad...rs/header.info
    [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error >
    It's just the same like last time!!!

  7. #7
    What is the content of your /etc/resolv.conf?
    Can you ping yahoo.com for example?
    Because your dns server is not working, your might need to add some working dns server in that file, in order for yum to have the IPs of the url repositories.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,294
    echo "nameserver 4.2.2.2" > /etc/resolv.conf
    yum -y install bind-libs
    /scripts/restartsrv_named
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dallas, Texas USA
    Posts
    71
    We took care of it for him.. and yup his resolvers were dead too
    - Comprehensive Server Management & End User Support
    - Now 100% U.S. Owned & Operated
    - Now offering instantly ready end-user support. 30secondsupport.com

  10. #10
    We've seen this happen recently with a number of servers running WHM. Looks to of occurred after a recent cPanel update.
    ServerFixIt - 100% Pro-Active Server Management
    We support: cPanel | Plesk | DirectAdmin | Webmin | no control panel
    http://www.serverfixit.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    269
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven
    echo "nameserver 4.2.2.2" > /etc/resolv.conf
    I didn't know about these level3 4.2.2.x nameservers. Do they allow recursive lookups as a free service to the world?

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by ServerFixIt
    We've seen this happen recently with a number of servers running WHM. Looks to of occurred after a recent cPanel update.
    Agree.. see this on few of Cpanel servers
    Tweakservers : SmarterTools | Paessler PRTG | MalwareBytes | Avast Antivirus | Mailenable
    TheSSLMart : Symantec, GeoTrust & Comodo SSL with Website Monitoring Alert

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by ServerFixIt
    We've seen this happen recently with a number of servers running WHM. Looks to of occurred after a recent cPanel update.
    Actualy redhat has updated its bind package and cpanel update has missed out and it has created issue further information can be found from cPanel forums

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,294
    You cannot believe how old it gets when people blame cpanel for issues like this. Its the operating systems fault this time and the last time it happened also. People are always so quick to point the finger at the easiest.
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •