Exclamation Ddos attacks: what to do against it?

Can anyone out there please shed some light on how to prevent Ddos attacks and what to do when you are being attacked?

We are currently experiencing Ddos attacks and we really have no idea on what to do. This is the second time within a month that we suffer from this.
    It seems some Russian guy is behind this and it seems more than 600 IP addresses are involved.
    Urgent help will be very much appreciated!

APF with antidos enabled is fine.

But for heavy, hardware is better.
    Specially 4 You
    JoneSolutions.Com ( Jones.Solutions ) is on the net 24/7 providing stable and reliable web hosting solutions and services since 2001

'APF with antidos enabled is fine.'

I really don't have a clue what that means.
    Can someone please explain like I'm a 6-year old?
    I'm not too technical myself and I would really appreciate it if anyone has a good explanation of what we can do against it as the Ddos attack is still going on today.

If this takes too long we might have to pull the plug.

You may download the APF from http://www.rfxnetworks.com/apf.php and reads up the docs http://www.rfxnetworks.com/apf/README.antidos and http://www.rfxnetworks.com/apf/README on how to configure it on your server.

As net said, APF is not recommended for a heavy or large scale ddos attack. You may need to seek the data center for help.
    Tweakservers : SmarterTools | Paessler PRTG | MalwareBytes | Avast Antivirus | Mailenable
    TheSSLMart : Symantec, GeoTrust & Comodo SSL with Website Monitoring Alert

If it is really DDOS - apf don't help you.
    Detect target of attack and set DNS A record to 127.0.0.1