Please, need someone advanced to help with a problem

Hey, I'm a dedicated server client of sago networks. I'm happy with their services, but thats irrelevant. Yesterday the hard drive to my dedicated that I order through them failed, and we were forced to install a fresh hard drive and reinstall cpanel/WHM on this new hd. They mounted my old hard drive (the one that failed), so I could access and retrieve data off of it and transfer it onto my new fresh primary one. The server is running CentOS 4.3, and I have to access the failed hard drive through SSH and unix commands to retrieve my data.

Now I'll be honest, I can manage and control a server with cpanel and webhostmanager, and i have basic knowledge of ssh and unix commands...but I've never had to actually retrieve data from a failed hard drive through something like SSH and this is beyond me.

the most important thing for me to retrieve is a MySQL database that was used for the vbulletin and vbulletin portal system that I was developing for my site. most of the other files i have backed up on my pc.

sago networks sent me this email:

Your old hard drive is /dev/hdd and is mounted as follows:
    /dev/hdd2 on /mnt/oldroot type ext3 (rw)
    /dev/hdd8 on /mnt/oldhome type ext3 (rw)
    /dev/hdd5 on /mnt/oldusr type ext3 (rw)
    /dev/hdd6 on /mnt/oldvar type ext3 (rw)

It will remain attached for at least 72 hours for you to retrieve your data.

and i've successfully made my way in SSH to these directories, but I'm uncertain how to go about retrieving the data once i've gotten there.

please any help on this matter is appreciated, if you can help reply here and we can talk on AIM MSN or Yahoo..or through emails. I greatly appreciate anyones help on this matter as this SQL Database is absolutely necessary for me to get my hands on, and I only have 72 hours to do it. Thanks again! Please help!

* Moved to Technical and Security Issues

I support the Human Rights Campaign!