Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    746

    How many max clients can your server do?

    How high has your server gone and what server specs? Mine maxing at 2022 and need to bump it a bit higher. I got dual 1.13 Ghz with 2 gig ram.

  2. #2
    What do you have in terms of spindles? You'd probably not need quite so many children if they weren't waiting for I/O so much.
    Dr. Colin Percival, FreeBSD Security Officer
    Online backups for the truly paranoid: http://www.tarsnap.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    746
    last pid: 29292; load averages: 10.19, 5.98, 11.971 up 4+14:30:17 06:29:14
    2062 processes:14 running, 2048 sleeping
    CPU states: 1.3% user, 0.0% nice, 10.7% system, 3.6% interrupt, 84.3% idle
    Mem: 1382M Active, 113M Inact, 418M Wired, 96M Cache, 214M Buf, 3008K Free
    Swap: 2048M Total, 174M Used, 1874M Free, 8% Inuse


    Load and cpu looks low

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    You got a really nice syste, but why is (15 min average) load of 11+ considered "low"? How many TCP connections are you serving with that load?
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    746
    /kernel: proc: table is full

    My server is maxed =/ at 2022 and won't fork anymore

    Current Time: Saturday, 08-Jun-2002 06:37:43 PDT
    Restart Time: Monday, 03-Jun-2002 16:00:14 PDT
    Parent Server Generation: 0
    Server uptime: 4 days 14 hours 37 minutes 29 seconds
    Total accesses: 48579406 - Total Traffic: 1560.2 GB
    CPU Usage: u12193.9 s99339.9 cu83.2344 cs90.1172 - 28% CPU load
    122 requests/sec - 4.0 MB/second - 33.7 kB/request
    1955 requests currently being processed, 67 idle servers

  6. #6
    1. You're getting a bit low on memory.
    2. What is maxusers set to? You might want to increase it and recompile your kernel.
    3. I still think that disk I/O might be an issue; can you show us the output of iostat?
    Dr. Colin Percival, FreeBSD Security Officer
    Online backups for the truly paranoid: http://www.tarsnap.com/

  7. #7
    man.. with the amount of bandwidth you are pushing you must be making some serious cash

  8. #8
    ... also depends on what he's serving

    But yes, 4MB/sec is nuts... I think at that rate, you will have to start thinking about a RAID-0 or sth, because your hard disk can't handle it anymore...
    Leon Mergen
    [email protected]
    http://www.antrophia.com/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    746
    Originally posted by cperciva
    1. You're getting a bit low on memory.
    2. What is maxusers set to? You might want to increase it and recompile your kernel.
    3. I still think that disk I/O might be an issue; can you show us the output of iostat?
    1)I will consider getting 3-4 Gigs if ram on my next box.
    2)I set maxclients to 3000 but it still won't go higher than 2022.
    3)How do I do that?

    I am also thinking about having all content go though http://www.acme.com/software/thttpd/ but nobody seems to have actual experience with it so I am afraid to try.

  10. #10
    Originally posted by ClusterMania
    1)I will consider getting 3-4 Gigs if ram on my next box.
    Better check that it will be fully supported -- there tend to be problems of sorts once you get past 2GB.

    2)I set maxclients to 3000 but it still won't go higher than 2022.

    maxusers, not maxclients... I mean the kernel setting.

    3)How do I do that?

    SSH in, su to root, and then type "iostat" and press enter.

    This might be better taken to PM or email.
    Dr. Colin Percival, FreeBSD Security Officer
    Online backups for the truly paranoid: http://www.tarsnap.com/

  11. #11

    thttpd

    I use thttpd. It's awesome. See it live at www.L2Host.com .

    Jake

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Waco, TX
    Posts
    5,292
    Mine does a max of 20, just because thats all I want on each server, and it still allows a nice profit.

    why load up so many on each? Even if I wanted to host more clients I would do no more than 200 on each server, it's just so much easier on the support.
    Instead of 2000+ emails IF the server goes down, you get a max of 200, and you keep more customers in the long run.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    852
    I would totally agree with cluster, yes servers these days can hold tons of domains, but who wants to answer 1000 emails by apache crashing on 1 server?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,953
    I would totally agree with cluster

    You mean with amd???

    Might want to look into a proliant, I loved em. 4 gigs of ram 320 gigs of space on one server. mmmmm

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    746

    Re: thttpd

    Originally posted by Jake29
    I use thttpd. It's awesome. See it live at www.L2Host.com .

    Jake
    Can you post some stats of your server? I want to see how much server load it's doing.

  16. #16
    Well, my loads are very very low... usually around 0.0 0.0 0.0. Partially this is due to the lightweight servers i use (thttpd, pureftpd, qmail)... this is partially due to the low amount of traffic... only had about .7 gigs in the last month or so.

    Another cool thing I will mention is that i use thttpd supervised w/ djb's daemontools. This way, if my server ever crashes for any reason, it's brought back within 5 seconds. Very very smooth setup, w/ very little administrative hassle.

    Jake

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    746
    That's nice, I wish I knew how it would perform doing 3000-4000 request per second. Do you have apache doing all your php and cgi while thttpd doing static stuff? How did you configure it?

  18. #18
    That's quite a load. I understand thttpd to be especially good at high load situations. As for cgi on my server, it goes through thttpd. I don't offer php. To use both servers together, you could have each one listen on different ip addresses. Put all static only/cgi customers on one ip w/ thttpd, all apache(php/modperl/whatev) on another. Just a thought. Again, i'm not making any recommendations about anything, just saying that i use it and it's fantastic for me.

    You might want to move a few sites to thttpd and see how it works for you. The new 2.23beta is out... don't let the beta scare you... it's always beta.

    Jake

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    746
    Did you have any problems getting it to work?

  20. #20
    Problems setting it up? Not at all- just follow the html-ized man page and the faq at http://www.acme.com/software/thttpd/ . It's a piece of cake. The only thing that is complicated is to set up cgi's w/a chroot environment. Just don't chroot if you use thttpd for cgi.. it's really not a safety hole, and more then using apache is .

    If you have any questions when setting it up, I'd be glad to help. PM me for my AIM screenname. Also, the thttpd mailing list is low volume but very active... great noise/signal ratio.

    Jake

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Franklin, TN, USA
    Posts
    1,322
    20 clients on one server?
    Linux Problems Solved. | Built for the Hosting Industry
    Server Management. Node Management. Helpdesk Management.
    ( AcuNett, Est. 15 Years, RateLobby 5 Stars )

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    746
    I only want thttpd to server all my media files such as movies and pictures. I want apache to still server the html, cgi and php. Last thing I want is millions of 404 errors and pictures not loading.


    Total accesses: 5136954 - Total Traffic: 159.4 GB
    CPU Usage: u1453.94 s11246.9 cu5.95313 cs5.73438 - 26.4% CPU load
    107 requests/sec - 3.4 MB/second - 32.5 kB/request
    1053 requests currently being processed, 511 idle servers

    Is 1053 all html request of combined request for all files?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •