Thread: ICMP or no ICMP

Question ICMP or no ICMP

A friend of mine suggested that I disable ICMP via IPChains.

Is there any reason why I should not keep it enabled? (Note: I'm the only one with administrative access to my server.)

It is good to disable it, if you don't really need to ping your server...

ICMP is a protocol used for sending ping requests... it can never be a bad thing to disable it, or allow a max of 3 requests / minute or sth...
    Leon Mergen
    [email protected]

St. Louis, MO
    Apparently, you should not block all ICMP. Here is the whole debate that took place a while back:
    Mike @ 1-877-4-XIOLINK
    Advanced Managed Microsoft Hosting
    "Your data... always within reach"

That debate kind of went over my head there. I'm still a novice at this server admin stuff.

I talked to another friend and he said I should drop ICMP also since it's causes too many problems.

I have the IPChains firewall and I was wondering if I shut it off completely or only make it accessible to trusted people or something.

ICMP is used for other things than ping replies; there are a number of different types of ICMP packets. Many of these packet types can be used for scanning and/or DoS purposes, which is why people block them. While you can safely block most ICMP packet types it's generally considered a bad idea to disable all ICMP traffic because some of these packet types are important for proper and efficient network operation. Other types of packets are not important but very useful for troubleshooting and can be allowed selectively or rate-limited.

Opinions about exactly what types of packets to allow and what types to block differ, but blocking them all is not a good solution. It may eliminate any security risk associated with this protocol - but the same thing could be said about blocking all TCP traffic, and you wouldn't want to do that...

Seattle, WA