Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,841

    AMD X2 4400 vs X2 4600

    Which do you think would be better for hosting? audio streaming/web hosting content...

    Athlon64 X2 4400+ (2.2ghz 1MB Cache per Core)
    or
    Athlon64 X2 4600+ (2.4ghz 512K Cache per Core) ??

    Also do you think Socket AM2 would be good for hosting? They have DDR2 800mhz RAM and less power consumption...any disadvantages that you know of?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Bluesquare dc, Uk
    Posts
    1,591
    We've been using the 4400 for gaming for good while now.

    Absolutely delighted with the overall performance.
    Olly | INX-Gaming
    Call of Duty 4 hosting

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    632
    Depends on your pricing, but I think the 4600+ is in a better sweet spot right now. However, power usage over time could change that, as the ADV4400DAA6CD is 89W, versus 110W for the 4600+. So, 21W could add up over time. It's also a 4.5% performance difference we're talking about, so it's probably better to go with the 4400+ in the long run.
    Former owner of A Small Orange
    New owner of <COMING SOON>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,841
    Well you can get 89W for both actually...but I was more interested in the extra 1MB cache (4400 with two cores) vs. the extra 400mhz (4600 with two cores).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    632
    Well, that's Socket AM2, which they weren't sure about from the way the original post sounds.
    Former owner of A Small Orange
    New owner of <COMING SOON>

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,841
    Yeah I'm not ;-)

    But it looks to be better in most aspects...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    AM2 is definately the future! in order to compete with Intel P-D or core2 duo's pricings, AMD has slashed AM2 price drastically! at this time, A64-X2 AM2 costs about half of s939 version, you just can't pass that! except FX62, all AM2 X2 chips use 89w max (ADA), or 65w max (ADO), and ultra low-power version is 35w max (ADD), and they all support DDR2-800 modules, unbuffered ECC or non-ECC.

    also, Tyan has released s3950g2nr AM2 board using the same serverworks' HT1000 chipset with spermicro H8SSL-i board, so Linux compatibility won't be an issues at all! it also comes 133mhz PCI-X for high-end PCI-X SATA/SAS/SCSI RAID card, IPMI SODIMM socket, and Intel dual-port Gb NICs (purportedly better than the usual Broadcom Gb NICs on most AMD server boards). it's fully 1U optimized with passive cooling and front-back DIMM slots (4x 2G DDR2-800 max)

    so, AM2 is here, folks!
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Gilroy CA.
    Posts
    464
    When it comes to that the real difference is being on a fast network. It doesn't take a lot of power to stuff files down a pipe. So - having said that the new AMD AM2 socket 3800+ is dirt cheap. Get a couple 300gig sata II drives and maybe 2-4 gigs of ram and you have a box that screams.
    Marc Perkel
    /root
    http://www.junkemailfilter.com
    marc@perkel.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,493
    Lee, any word on when the FX-50's and the like will come down big-time? I heard a rumour they'll drop to $350 from there current $1K+ ratings. Although, it was a rumour and I'm sure there are people here with a lot more knowledge than me.

    edit: more specifically the FX-60 Dual Core 2.6GHZ 2MB L2 Cache
    GeeksGather - Undergoing redevelopment. Stand by.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,114
    Listen to cwl@apaqdigital. he knows more about servers than about anyone on this forum. I'd suggest buying them from him too. He builds great servers and has clients all over the world.
    SiteSouth
    Atlanta, GA and Las Vegas, NV. Colocation

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    Quote Originally Posted by PixelManual
    Lee, any word on when the FX-50's and the like will come down big-time? I heard a rumour they'll drop to $350 from there current $1K+ ratings. Although, it was a rumour and I'm sure there are people here with a lot more knowledge than me.

    edit: more specifically the FX-60 Dual Core 2.6GHZ 2MB L2 Cache
    fx-60 s939 or fx-62 AM2 is still up there! but X2-5000 AM2, also dual 2.6Ghz/1M L2 cores, will be few hundreds cheapper than fx-60.

    really, X2-4400 (2.2G)/4800(2.4G)/5000(2.6G) are great buys right now because they all come with 2x 1M L2 which are basically identical to Opteron 175/180/185, and cost less than half of corresponding Opteron.

    and again, 1U optimized tyan s3950g2nr (AM2) make it possible to use these low-cost dual-core AM2 chips to be immediately implemented in production servers!

    well, core2 duo (Conroe; un-dualable Woodcrest) is out now, and it should beat X2 AM2/Opteron s939 by wide margin. the pity is that there is no 1U optimized server board available yet from any manufacturers (well, fortunately for AMD)!
    Last edited by cwl@apaqdigital; 07-29-2006 at 10:41 PM.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,493
    Thanks for the, as usual, extremely knowledgeable response.
    GeeksGather - Undergoing redevelopment. Stand by.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Support Ticket Near You!
    Posts
    1,106
    He's quite right.

    AMD's flagship processor the FX-62 won't be anywhere near $350. It will always be high priced but is coming down to ~$750 thanks to Conroe.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    Quote Originally Posted by cwl@apaqdigital
    fx-60 s939 or fx-62 AM2 is still up there! but X2-5000 AM2, also dual 2.6Ghz/1M L2 cores, will be few hundreds cheapper than fx-60.

    really, X2-4400 (2.2G)/4800(2.4G)/5000(2.6G) are great buys right now because they all come with 2x 1M L2 which are basically identical to Opteron 175/180/185, and cost less than half of corresponding Opteron...
    I need to correct myself! X2-5000 AM2 comes with 2x 512K L2 only, not 2x 1M as I indicated previously.

    just to make it clear about the entire dual-core AM2 line:
    Athlon 64 FX-62 2.8GHz 1MBx2 125W
    Athlon 64 FX-60 2.6GHz 1MBx2 125W
    Athlon 64 X2 5000+ 2.6GHz 512KBx2 89W
    Athlon 64 X2 4800+ 2.4GHz 1MBx2 89W or 65W
    Athlon 64 X2 4600+ 2.4GHz 512KBx2 89W or 65W
    Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.2GHz 1MBx2 89W or 65W
    Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 2.2GHz 512KBx2 89W or 65W
    Athlon 64 X2 4000+ 2.0GHz 1MBx2 89W or 65W
    Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 2.0GHz 512KBx2 89W or 65W or 35W

    89W:ADA version, 65W: ADO, 35W: ADD
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,841
    Lee,

    Do you think that the 4400 would outperform the 4600 in a hosting environment or the other way around? I like the 4400 AM2 because it's real close to the opteron 175...the only difference I've seen is the total bandwidth is 20gbps for the AM2 and 24gbps for the opteron but only 14gbps for the S939. So let me know your thoughts on the whole thing and any differences between the three (opteron s939, a64 s939, and AM2).

    Thanks,
    Devon

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    was it me, I would take 4400 over 4600 any time for server application. 1M L2 per core is lot more beneficial than 0.2Ghz.

    you won't be able to buy AM2 version of 4000/4400/4800 (1M L2 x2) anytime soon, so 4400 s939 is an excellent choice for now, specially all major vendors have also slashed prices for s939 X2 chips driven by the new low pricings from AMD. for 1U optimized s939 board, use either Tyan S2865n2hr or SM H8SSL-i. SM board has PCI-X, but tyan doesn't.

    the entire line of Opteron 1xx socket 939 is subject to discontinuation really soon, if not so already!

    where did you get the info of 20Gbps vs 24 vs 14?
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    folks, the AM2 version of A64-X2 4000, 2x 2.0G/1M L2 cores, has hit the markets in last few days! it comes with 2x 1M L2 which peforms equally to Opteron 170 socket 939, yet it costs about half of the Op170 and uses less power.

    eventually, we will see socket AM2 4400 (2x 2.2G/1M L2 cores = op175) and 4800 (2x 2.4G/1M L2 cores = op180) come to markets, just don't know when......
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Gilroy CA.
    Posts
    464
    With quad cores coming I'm wondering why people will buy opterons, except for very high end computers, when athlons are plenty fast and far less expensive.
    Marc Perkel
    /root
    http://www.junkemailfilter.com
    marc@perkel.com

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    agree that buying single opteron socket 939 doesn't make sense anymore. however, for larger server, you still need dual socket 940 platform to have 8x DIMM slots, multi PCI-X slots....etc. also, dual socket F (1207) platfrom is just around the corner too.

    anyway, socket 939 is a dying breed, and Woodcrest/Conroe will change the server landscape a great deal whether you like it or not!
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Waco, TX
    Posts
    5,104
    Opterons will be alive and kicking even with quad cores. The opterons typically have better shelf life (meaning you can get them longer than an x2 from sources), they have more hypertransport lanes(certain models), along with what CWL has posted about PCI-X, DIMM slots, etc.
    Jodohost Operations Manager Twitter status feed: https://twitter.com/jodohostcom
    Now offering Plesk Hosting on Windows or Linux.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Gilroy CA.
    Posts
    464
    Seems to me like buying a dual single core opteron doesn't make sense when you can get the same out of a dual core athlon. Now with AM2 you can put 8 or 16 gigs of ram on it. Seems to me like opterons only mke sense when you need more than 2 cores.

    To me the Athlon X2 is a poor man's dual opteron.
    Marc Perkel
    /root
    http://www.junkemailfilter.com
    marc@perkel.com

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Waco, TX
    Posts
    5,104
    Well you would be right there, but we dont use any 1xx opterons only 2xx or 8xx

    You dont have a serious server with a 1xx opteron, more just a low end server. There are indeed purposes for this config, but not ideal IMO.
    Jodohost Operations Manager Twitter status feed: https://twitter.com/jodohostcom
    Now offering Plesk Hosting on Windows or Linux.

  23. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •