hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : what would you recomend

Forum Jump

what would you recomend

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2006, 09:06 PM

what would you recomend

im pretty new to this all.

what solution would you say is the best to host a web site that would have simular features and functions as a youtube.com type of site were theres alot of audio or video uploading and downloading as well as streaming. and what companies offer the solution that you recommend for the best pos. price (my budget is tight)

Sponsored Links
Old 07-23-2006, 09:41 PM
Everything in life is swelly

Well that depends on alot of factors. One is going to be size. It looks as if it will be a startup correct? If so, then a dedicated server will suit you just fine. Reason behind that is most providers on a shared platform are going to have resource limitations and if your website starts to get alot of visitors and such you could be considered "excessive usage" On the other hand a dedicated server will be able to consume those resources and handle the in/out traffic that will come with the large amount of visitors and downloads such as images/movies, clips, etc. However you say that your budget is tight. I believe that a decent server you will need to spend quite a few. So perhaps start off on a VPS to see how it will handle. Not too sure about limitations as far as other providers go on that.

Old 07-23-2006, 10:04 PM

It is a start up.
I would like to keep the monthly cost down under $175.00, if I could keep it below $100 that would be great but I doubt that’s possible.
Would you recommend a dual processor or a duel hard drive? How much monthly transfer gb should I look to get. What processor is the best for this application? What companys offer the best deals for the platform you would recommend?