hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : Colocation Offer - Your Thoughts

Forum Jump

Colocation Offer - Your Thoughts

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2006, 03:33 PM
Junior Guru Wannabe

Colocation Offer - Your Thoughts

Hello all,

I am planning on colocating three 1U servers shortly. I have an offer for a 45 mbps capacity pipe with bandwidth charged via 95th percentile pricing. The monthly charge for 1/4 of a rack is $125 a month which seems perfectly reasonable to me. However, I am a systems administrator by trade for large companies not necessarily based off of the internet, and am not overly familiar with what the cost of bandwidth should be.

The company is charging $350 per meg, $325 per 6-10 meg, and so on. In addition, they are charging lower prices for bandwidth less than 1 mbps ($100 0-46 kbps on up). Given the capacity of the pipe, the low cost of housing a server there, do you guys with much more experience in this than I feel this is a good deal, or would it be more advantageous for me to keep looking.

I've found that researching colocation prices is somewhat difficult based on the numerous ways that they are charged. And I just am not able to get a good 'feel' for the market yet... i.e. what is a good deal and what isn't!

Tom

Last edited by tereglow; 07-09-2006 at 03:36 PM.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-09-2006, 03:58 PM
Junior Guru Wannabe

Question

I would like to know the first company's name so I can sign up with them too, that does seem reasonable, unlike places who charge $600 for 10 mbps, I like that 45 mbps for $125.....

ty.

Old 07-09-2006, 04:13 PM
Backup Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by n00ber