hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Design and Content : What a rip-off! need design? ask these how to copy!
Reply

Web Design and Content Subjects include, HTML, graphics, editors, CSS, Flash, graphics creation, placing of ads, ad serv companies, copyright, content and nearly anything else design related. Also talk about businesses that provide design services. If you link to your site, you must post in Web Site Reviews.
Forum Jump

What a rip-off! need design? ask these how to copy!

Reply Post New Thread In Web Design and Content Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2006, 12:14 AM
chillax chillax is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
*

What a rip-off! need design? ask these how to copy!


URL: http://www.spacage.net

rings a bell?

doesnt? now try http://www.servage.net

someone here might like to contact the webmaster at spaceage and tell them some good things in official lingo.. i am not too good at that

but boy! thats an "awesome" rip-off!

PS: their prices are $2.50 more than servage and i can bet they just take orders from customers and buy account from servage, $2.5 on every account isnt too bad afterall

EDIT LATER:

just discovered some "cool" facts about spaceage...

> their order form is (very obviously) not secure and is on http.

> just press "continue" on their order form (even WITHOUT filling) and see your browser status bar... what do see?
contacting http://formmail.servage.net !!!

> apparenrently they have a system wherein a user fill form here... it gets copied to servage... make payment at spaceage.. and they pay to servage... keeping the p[rofits obviously!

big time stealing, leeching, copying, bla bla bla bla.....


Last edited by chillax; 07-06-2006 at 12:23 AM.
Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-06-2006, 02:40 AM
Puneet Puneet is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Hi,

Its a surprise for me!! Friends am a spacage user for a very long time.. its been almost an year i guess. and after reading this i emailed their support center and i received a reply saying they are "reseller" for servage.

hmmm.. i never faced any issues from spacage hence i dont mind tht.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-2006, 02:45 AM
chillax chillax is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
a new member joins and posts good things about spaceage straightaway.... fishy

and yea.. being a reseller


Last edited by chillax; 07-06-2006 at 02:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 07-06-2006, 10:40 AM
cactus cactus is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,005
Yes it's possible that they are a reseller. I am an affiliate for such a company and didn't choose the reseller route as it frightens me upon they mentioning that they have 35,000 resellers but maybe it's not true but even 10% of it just shudders me using the same 16 templates resellers choose from.

I have even come across web hosting companies look alike that are resellers for the same company that sells them the reseller account.

This is what it say on their web site:

As a reseller with our FREE program you can have:

A ready-to-use reseller site (choose from 16 templates) with either predefined or custom-made hosting plans, or both.
A site designed by you that offers all of the hosting plans where you can use our custom Order, Domain Search and Login forms.
A site of your own with your own payment system, order forms and technical support that uses our Reseller API.

I won't mention names but it's the fact these days, so don't be supprised if you see look alike sites offering the same package of hosting services.

__________________
WHO AM I? CLICK HERE!


Last edited by cactus; 07-06-2006 at 10:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-08-2006, 06:49 AM
Shaliza Shaliza is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 615
What the heck

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-08-2006, 09:45 AM
Trophimus Trophimus is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 904
I just sent Servage a friendly e-mail letting them know their site was ripped, and gave them an URL .

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:53 PM
j_williams j_williams is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
That's rediculous, do people actually think they will get away with that stuff?

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-08-2006, 07:24 PM
tomcats tomcats is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
gosh! either all of u need to go thru ur concepts of resellers or you guys know nothin


CHECK OUT
http://www.thedomainnamecenter.com/
http://domain-name-store.com/

n then check out
https://www.godaddy.com/gdshop/resel...ant_sample.asp

when someone becomes a reseller, the hosting company gives them a template. resellers may not have programming skills, rather concept of resellers is to market a product. they are not bothered about programming/uniqueness.

servage is just a hosting company, n to what is seems spacage is a reseller. wht is wrong? also i hv checked their paypal verification, they seems to be authentic and when i tried to create an account it was in its 3 rd step tht i got Verisign secure page which i checked was authentic too.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-08-2006, 10:15 PM
kubel kubel is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Resellers are evil? People resell all the time, both goods and services. I don't see anything wrong with that.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Server Sitters Adds Website Design Service for Web Hosts Web Hosting News 2012-12-21 16:57:19
Zetta Launches Appliance-Free Hybrid Smart Cloud Backup Solution Web Hosting News 2012-10-23 16:29:27
Website usability – 10 tips for getting it right Blog 2012-04-27 14:11:03
Integrated Design Group Names Data Center Veteran Chief Technology Advisor Web Hosting News 2011-06-28 14:22:36
Q&A: Go Daddy general counsel Christine Jones on Domain Transfer Lawsuit Web Hosting News 2011-06-09 20:50:09


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?