Starting an online store?

ok... I'm new at ecommerce but want to build an online store... what is needed to build it and run it? I have an SSL Cert. and the domains I'm shopping for hosting but again need more info. I know that some of you are already established and maybe in this area or maybe you have an online store so examples would be helpful...

thanks a ton guys...

First of all you need something to sell! Is this an extension to your current business?

For someone just starting off, I would recommend looking at Yahoo Storefront. They give you a good start, excellant hosting and site building tools that will help you build your store.

<<Signature to be setup in your profile>>
    Last edited by anon-e-mouse; 07-04-2006 at 01:33 AM.

i'm not totally oblivious about ecommerce and the fact that you need a product to sell. It would be an online store dedicated to a specific nitche.

but thanks for your input...

Hi,

You will need shopping cart software to create online catalog, merchant account (or payment gateway) to collect money, tracking tools to analyze traffic and visitor behaviours.

awesome... thanks SteveIrw... any suggestions of who to go through?

Keep in mind that there are free shopping carts available (oscommerce for instance) that can save you some money and work great. You can also integrate the cart into html pages if you only have a few products to sell. Yahoo is ok but I think they're a bit pricey. Many cc processors post on these forums so you might want to look around here for the processor/gateway. And don't forget to post some items on E-Bay.
    Paul, MCP SBS
    100% Windows 2003 Hosting
    http://www.jabezhosting.com

Quote Originally Posted by Turkizm89
    i'm not totally oblivious about ecommerce and the fact that you need a product to sell. It would be an online store dedicated to a specific nitche.
    What niche are you trying to fill? Are you in the U.S. ?