hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Need to mimic a Static IP address
Reply

Forum Jump

Need to mimic a Static IP address

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 21

Need to mimic a Static IP address


Hello,

I have a high-speed cable internet account with a dynamic IP address, but I need to access a secure server that uses IP authentication. Is there any way for me to get a static IP address to use with with my current internet account or mimic a static IP address so that I can access this secure server? I know that I can pay a lot more each month for a static IP address, but I don't want to pay that much more per month for internet access.

Thanks in advance for all of your assistance!

-Charles



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25

__________________
<< e-hosting.lu >> The fastest way to get online
-----------------------------------------------------------
http://www.e-hosting.lu // Webhosting as you need it

  #3  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
I will testify to dynDNS. I use the service everyday remoting into my home PC from work. It works great.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Managed Hosting Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 4,163
I doubt that'll work for IP authentication, IP addresses *generally* don't change unless you disconnect/reconnect (ie re-run the authentication process). If your connection is stable, what you could do is ensure you have some sort of UPS for your modem so that it constantly stays connected.

Dan

__________________
█ Dan Kitchen | Technical Director | Razorblue
█ ddi: (+44) (0)1748 900 680 | e: dkitchen@razorblue.com
█ UK Intensive Managed Hosting, Clusters and Colocation.
█ HP Servers, Cisco/Juniper Powered BGP Network (AS15692).


  #5  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Well if you absolutly need one, Im sure they arent that expensive. I used to work for an ISP and we would charge $5 a month for it. Have you checked out pricing at all?

  #6  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 352
DynDNS only allows a computer with a dynamic IP address to be accessible in the same way (i.e., the same hostname) to an outside user. This is the opposite situation, where the computer with a dynamic IP address has to present itself in the same way same (i.e., the same IP address) to an outside server. Servers that authenticate by IP don't know and don't care what your DynDNS hostname is (usually they are specifically set up to *not* trust DNS information).

As far as adding a static IP to your account, many providers (RoadRunner, for example) won't give you a static IP unless you sign up for their business class service, which could be as much as an additional $30-$50/mo. Without paying for that service, the only other way to have a static IP is to go through another proxy server (with a static IP) set up on some outside server (i.e., set up a proxy to a proxy server). Of course, that may or may not work depending on how everything has to be configured...

  #7  
Old
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 506
See if you can specify an IP range on the remote server, often your ip wont fluctuate between outside a c class.

Also you could specify on reverse dns records (say your isp rev dns is ip-234.294.2-someisp.net you could specify *.someisp.net)

Otherwise look at some other authentication method (shared keys .... depends on what your doing)

If you say what it is your authenticating to i might be able to help more ... ssh/ftp/???)

  #8  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by fxbezak
Well if you absolutly need one, Im sure they arent that expensive. I used to work for an ISP and we would charge $5 a month for it. Have you checked out pricing at all?
I have a Time Warner Cable account, and I think that Dexxtreme is correct about having to get a business account, and my monthly bill will go from about $40 to about $160.

guyellis - I'm pretty sure that I am using using ssh to connect to a secure database on a SuSe linux machine.

-Charles

  #9  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by guyellis1988
See if you can specify an IP range on the remote server, often your ip wont fluctuate between outside a c class.
My IP changed 4 times over the past two days (extended power issues from Alberto), and I jumped through 2 different class C's (in a different class B) from where I started before being dumped back into the class C I originally had for 3+ months. If your connection is stable enough, maybe you can call in and have them update the server when your IP changes. (However, that could introduce delays in accessing the server...)

  #10  
Old
Managed Hosting Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 4,163
The other alternative is to get a VPS somewhere and run LT2Pd or something of that nature and tunnel through it ...

A basic 64mb VPS with minimal resources should suffice.

Dan

__________________
█ Dan Kitchen | Technical Director | Razorblue
█ ddi: (+44) (0)1748 900 680 | e: dkitchen@razorblue.com
█ UK Intensive Managed Hosting, Clusters and Colocation.
█ HP Servers, Cisco/Juniper Powered BGP Network (AS15692).


  #11  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 21
In a way I think it's good that this isn't so easy to do - it it were easy it would compromise security.

I called TWC to verify, and they do not provide static IP addresses to home customers, and the cheapest business account with a static IP is over $150/month. Verizon DSL has a cheaper one (about $70/month), but they will not provide service to my building. It looks like I might have to tunnel through another network.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
SiteLock Launches TrueCode to Help SMBs Detect Application Vulnerabilities Web Hosting News 2014-06-12 10:39:51
RemoteDesktop.com Listing 2014-10-22 09:48:08
HostingDiscussion Listing 2014-10-22 09:47:55
101domain, Inc. Listing 2014-10-22 09:43:08
101domain, Inc. Listing 2014-10-22 09:48:19


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?