
06-12-2006, 03:44 AM
|
|
Community Leader
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 31,988
|
|
Can I have some help from eBay users?
I know there are a lot of scams out there, but this one *might* be legit. Note, I do not have an ebay account, but it came to an email address that was originally used by someone else.
Quote:
eBay Item Not Received Dispute Opened for Item #6884608***
Dear member :
shadow69696 has informed eBay that they have not yet received item 9303607***, K - SWISS Verstad, BRAND NEW, UK Size 9.5, Color NAVY.
There are many reasons why this might have happened. Perhaps the item is still in transit, the payment has not yet cleared, or maybe it was accidentally sent to the wrong address. In addition, buyers can sometimes have unrealistic expectations about how much time it can take for payment, postage and delivery. As a result, no action is being taken by eBay at this time.
However, it's important to remember that when you sell an item on eBay you're agreeing to a contract between you and the buyer. If you don't send an item that a buyer has purchased you may be committing fraud.
Most Item Not Received disputes can be solved with direct communication between the buyer and seller, and we encourage you to work with your trading partner to resolve this situation. Click the link below to view and reply to the information submitted by the buyer.
If you don't respond by 10-Aug-2006 the buyer may elect to escalate this matter
Learn more about eBay's Item Not Received or Significantly Not as Described Process.
You can view the status of this dispute at any time by visiting your Dispute Console, which is accessible here:
http://rebulk.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAP...&DisputeType=3
Thank you for your patience and co-operation.
Regards,
eBay
|

|

06-12-2006, 03:58 AM
|
|
Superhero
|
|
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,478
|
|
Considering it links to an actual eBay page and I don't see what someone would gain by sending a fake email like that, I'd assume it's true.
Your best bet would be to forward it to the previous owner of that address if you know who it is, otherwise there's not much you can do. It's his personal information that's on file and that's what they'd use to nail him with any fines or legal issues if it came to that.
It probably wouldn't hurt to inform eBay though. 
__________________
Webmaster Forum • webmastertalk.net • Webmaster Community Forum
Domain Focus • domainfocus.com • Webmaster Tools | IP Lookup | Domain Whois | PageRank Checker | HTTP Header Info
|

06-12-2006, 04:14 AM
|
|
Community Guide
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 2,807
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by anon-e-mouse
Hmmmm a search for shadow69696 brings up some interesting results
|
Indeed it does, and this one stands out the most to me:
http://www.millersmiles.co.uk/report/2747
Jan, I bet that if you hover over the link in the actual e-mail, rather than in your post here, the link will not go to Ebay. Try it.  I'm quite sure this is a scam.
__________________
- Jamie Harrop
|

06-12-2006, 04:15 AM
|
|
An Awesome Dude
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 12,644
|
|
Its a scam!
I saw this posted on another site Jan and i went a got the link for you!!
http://www.millersmiles.co.uk/report/2747
Dont ever trust ANY EMAILS you recieve!!!!!!! (Always goto the site they claim they are STRAIGHT AWAY,dont use thier cut thru links)
__________________
Tinyurl is the answer for posting long urls!!!
|

06-12-2006, 04:22 AM
|
|
Superhero
|
|
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,478
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Equentity - Jamie
Jan, I bet that if you hover over the link in the actual e-mail, rather than in your post here, the link will not go to Ebay. Try it.  I'm quite sure this is a scam.
|
I guess that part didn't come through when it was pasted here.  After reading it again, " Dear member :" is usually a bad sign as well. Most companies will address you by your name.
__________________
Webmaster Forum • webmastertalk.net • Webmaster Community Forum
Domain Focus • domainfocus.com • Webmaster Tools | IP Lookup | Domain Whois | PageRank Checker | HTTP Header Info
Last edited by Amdac; 06-12-2006 at 04:26 AM.
|

06-12-2006, 04:46 AM
|
|
Community Leader
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 31,988
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Equentity - Jamie
Jan, I bet that if you hover over the link in the actual e-mail, rather than in your post here, the link will not go to Ebay. Try it.  I'm quite sure this is a scam.
|
Looks like it  I didn't hover over the link but copied it into a browser that is a bit safer than IE when clicking suspect links. Yeah Romanian URL 
|

06-12-2006, 05:38 AM
|
|
Community Guide
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,663
|
|
Yes hover-over link is what to watch for,
I usually end up being fooled for one of these when I wake up at 6am.
|

06-12-2006, 06:26 AM
|
|
Community Leader
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 31,988
|
|
Well I wasn't fooled because I don't have an account with them  But all other ebay stuff goes straight to junk. I thought at first the junk feature was broken when I saw 2 in my inbox. Sent 4 days apart. I junked the first and then spotted the eBay Item Not Received Dispute Opened for Item #6884608*** bit, so read it, reread it, remembered that this email account was once used by someone else (it is a mod email address from another forum), hence my post here.
I was more concerned that I wouldn't be able to prove I was not the member being complained about, if it was legit.
|

06-12-2006, 10:20 AM
|
|
An Awesome Dude
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 12,644
|
|
What is the link it sends you to Jan?? (Some of us wanna "do our usual duties" by filling out every line of thier form............
WITH BOGUS DATA  )
__________________
Tinyurl is the answer for posting long urls!!!
|

06-13-2006, 12:42 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 3,865
|
|
Jan, and everyone else who may not know this, Ebay, Paypal, and almost every other bank out there will address you with your First and Last name. If the email does not make use of your First and Last name, then be wary.
I have received that very same email multiple times. And there are new ebay scams where scammers create auctions, and use CSS to make the page look like an Ebay login page that uses a form-post to forward your info to the scammer. So the URL and SSL cert may very well be ebay, but it is an auction page you are viewing, and not a legit login page.
Always type the URL to the site you want to log into, and don't follow any links.
|

06-13-2006, 01:39 AM
|
|
Retired Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,954
|
|
Got to love how hard the scammers try with the eBay letters. Most ebay letters now instruct you to login into your account.
|

06-13-2006, 02:00 AM
|
|
Older than the Internet
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 23,860
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Odd Fact
Got to love how hard the scammers try with the eBay letters. Most ebay letters now instruct you to login into your account.
|
Yes, and they're getting sneakier and sneakier too. Let's face it, the average Joe internet user out there doesn't stand a chance against these folks. It's easy game. 
|

06-13-2006, 02:02 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,125
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Aussie Bob
Yes, and they're getting sneakier and sneakier too. Let's face it, the average Joe internet user out there doesn't stand a chance against these folks. It's easy game. 
|
Sound like some entrepreneurial Internet geek should start some sort of service to authenticate these things. A nickle per email authentication.
One thing I've never get is why nobody ever uses Digital Signature. I'm like the only I know of that uses Digital Signature to sign my outgoing emails. It might not be perfect but it give a lot more authentication security than just plain email. Some big company like eBay or PayPal could really use Digital Signature to cut down on these type of emails.
__________________
 Sarcasm, the 6th Ponyman of the Apocalypse.
Please do not inquire about Tim, the 5th Ponyman.
|

06-13-2006, 02:06 AM
|
|
Home Theater Enthusiast
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: La Habra, CA
Posts: 1,768
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Utaria-Aaron
Jan, and everyone else who may not know this, Ebay, Paypal, and almost every other bank out there will address you with your First and Last name. If the email does not make use of your First and Last name, then be wary.
|
For some reason when WAMU emails me they never use my name, they always say "Dear customer"
But there is never any links on the site, it just tells me to login to my washington mutual account and go to new messages.
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|