I never thought I'd get one of these, but I have.
I've owned a particular domain for over a year (call it
ABCDEFG.COM - not the real name of course).
A few days ago, I received the following email. Identifying details have been removed. My comments and questions are after the email:
From: <name1>@abcdef.com <name1@abcdef.com>
To: me.protect@whoisguard.com
Cc:
Subject: Infringement ABCDEF.org
Dear Madam/Sir:
I am an attorney representing ABCDEF on trademark issues. ABCDEF is a well-known diversified company offering <<company details removed>>
. ABCDEF began offering <<historical details removed>>
and has continued to do so over the intervening years. The mark is well-known and is registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office either alone or in combination with other words for each of the services mentioned above. We have recently acquired evidence that your company has been, using the ABCDEF name in your domain name. This usage of the mark ABCDEF infringes on the registered mark ABCDEF which is owned by <<details removed>>
(Registration No. <<details removed>>
).
Even though at this point your website does not contain any content, it is clearly designed to cause confusion. This use of ABCDEF's trademark in the domain is a violation of ABCDEFs trademark rights and §43(a) of the Lanham Act. This domain incorporates ABCDEFs mark, using the same channel of commerce (Internet) used by ABCDEF. Use or registration of the ABCDEF trademark in your domain with bad faith intent violates the Trademark Cyberpiracy Act. If this situation is not remedied immediately we will notify your ISP of this violation.
ABCDEF aggressively protects its trademarks and other intangible assets. We trust this letter is sufficient to ensure that you immediately remove the referenced domain from the Internet and transfer it to ABCDEF. This letter has been submitted to your contact information e-mail from a WHOIS search. Please provide us with proof that you have taken action in this regard within the next fifteen (15) days. In the event we do not hear from you within the next fifteen (15) days, we will presume that you do not wish to resolve this matter amicably. Any further use of ABCDEFs name by you after this time will be regarded as willful infringement and I will advise my client to swiftly move to take appropriate legal action.
Sincerely,
ABCDEF
<<name2 removed>><<name2 removed>>
Vice President
Deputy Corporate Counsel
OK, so I need advice on what to do next. Here's my response to some of their accusations.
We have recently acquired evidence that your company has been, using the ABCDEF name in your domain name.
OK fine, I will agree that my domain ABCDEFG.com contains their company's name (ABCDEF) in it.
Even though at this point your website does not contain any content, it is clearly designed to cause confusion.
The first part is correct - my website does not contain any content, except a colored background and text that states "ABCDEF.com is Under Construction". It's been like that for over a year..
The second part is INCORRECT - it is NOT clearly designed to cause confusion. Who would be confused by such a simple webpage? There is no content referring to their company, so how could anyone get confused?
Use or registration of the ABCDEF trademark in your domain with bad faith intent violates the Trademark Cyberpiracy Act.
I don't know where they get the 'bad faith' part. I'm using my domain in good faith for my own purposes, not related to their company at all!
We trust this letter is sufficient to ensure that you immediately remove the referenced domain from the Internet and transfer it to ABCDEF. This letter has been submitted to your contact information e-mail from a WHOIS search. Please provide us with proof that you have taken action in this regard within the next fifteen (15) days.
Now let's say I wanted to transfer the domain to ABCDEF. How do I do that? Aren't they supposed to provide me with more info?
Questions:
- Why would the ABCDEF company, who already has ABCDEF.com, care about ABCDEF
G.com? How could people be confused by that? And my website is clearly not referring at all to ABCDEF. I wonder if they are going after all owners of ABCDEF
x.ext domains???
- Note that the return address has one person's name, and the letter itself is signed by someone else. Is this significant?
- Why does the subject line have .org when my domain is .com? I checked WHOIS and the .org domain doesn't exist.
- Any chance this could be a hoax?
- Assuming this is legitimate, is there some organization that could help me out here? (gratis?) I'm not a company, just a hobbyist with no funds to match wits with a large company.
- The domain is at Namecheap and has WhoisGuard enabled.
I feel like I'm being bullied here. Any advice?
Thanks for reading!